Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Help needed tweaking a toolpath

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    42

    Default Help needed tweaking a toolpath

    When using Aspire to create a simple pocket cut which has multiple step-downs to reach the desired depth, the tool raises back to the safe Z2 plunge move height in between passes. For example, let's say I'm trying to cut a 3/4" pocket in 1/4" passes...After the tool completes the first pass at -1/4" z-height, the tool raises to .2" (my current set Z2 Rapid Z Gaps Above Material) before lowering again to -1/2". How do I adjust my settings so that the ShopBot will directly plunge to the next lower pass without raising to the Z2 height each time? Or do I have to manually alter the G-code? That would suck, as it's 5000+ lines...

    I have a job that requires hundreds of small pockets, and having the tool travel back up and down between every pass is a real time-waster...

    Thanks in advance!
    PRS Alpha 96" x 60"

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    San Diego CA
    Posts
    103

    Default

    I think you may have a lead in or lead out checked. If you do that, it raises to the safe z and ramps /leads in on every new depth. If that's the reason, I know the problem well and lose my mind when I accidentally set it up like that.
    PRS Alpha 96" X 48" w/ 12" Z
    4hp Spindle
    6" Indexer
    Aspire 8

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    42

    Default

    Hmmm...I'll have to take a look at that. I don't think I set it up with ramps/leads, but doesn't hurt to go over it again. When I get back to the shop...
    Thanks for your input, Justin
    PRS Alpha 96" x 60"

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    42

    Default

    Welp, that wasn't it
    I'm pretty convinced that Vectric's toolpath options are less than to be desired,
    especially 3D stuff, like rest machining, 3D roughing, etc...
    Most of the time, one has to use a workaround or a gadget or edit the g-code directly to get the desired results.
    Not that I'm knocking Vectric all that much. It is a great program for what it is, just needs some refinements here and there
    PRS Alpha 96" x 60"

Similar Threads

  1. V-Inlay Bit and Toolpath Help Needed
    By Red F in forum Techniques for Cutting, Drilling, Machining
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-19-2015, 09:49 PM
  2. Tweaking Router Square
    By matt_raymond60 in forum ShopBotter Message Board
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-12-2012, 01:08 AM
  3. Tweaking advice
    By chunkstyle in forum ShopBotter Message Board
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 06-28-2010, 08:21 PM
  4. Tweaking up your rails
    By fleinbach in forum Archives2004
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-29-2004, 09:11 PM
  5. Tweaking shopbot????
    By hammerhead in forum Archives thru 2002
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-01-2001, 08:56 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •