Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: VCP crashing...

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Garland Tx
    Posts
    2,227

    Default VCP crashing...

    VCP 8.024

    Anyone else getting this message while working with VCP?
    It happens all too regularly when I haven’t saved my file in a few hours… lots of lost work lately!

    SG
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Kennebunkport, Maine
    Posts
    4,072

    Default

    Not with 8.024, but then I save more regularly, and increment and save at major design changes.
    Had it happen a lot on older versions of 8.
    Bummer.
    Scott Plaisted
    2013 Desktop/spindle/VCP 9
    Maine

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Jasper, TX
    Posts
    513

    Default

    Steve try turning off any antivirus programs you have. Aspire 4.5 was not crashing on me but I was unable to save to thumb drive. Had to change exceptions in AVG. Vectric support helped me with it.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Kennebunkport, Maine
    Posts
    4,072

    Default

    Steve, Dave just made me think that I never had the crash on my control computer, it was always this connected laptop with Kaspersky and windows 10 with all the bells and whistles and bloatware that come with a new HP.
    Do you have the problem with your control computer, or just with design computer?
    scott
    Scott Plaisted
    2013 Desktop/spindle/VCP 9
    Maine

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Garland Tx
    Posts
    2,227

    Default

    I don’t do any design or VCP work on my control computer… My design computer is a 64 bit i5 Dell with 8 gig of RAM, running under win 10. I don’t have any anti-virus software other than windows defender and windows firewall.
    I’m wondering if my issues stem from my habit of having at least three sessions of VCP open at any one time…
    SG

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Kennebunkport, Maine
    Posts
    4,072

    Default

    Could be Steve?
    I seem to remember crashing only when linear arraying multiple small 3D's (24) at 20Xresolution which seemed to give me a "Not responding" fairly often.
    Does the problem happen with multiple 2D stuff open, or is it multiple 3D's?
    Haven't done a 3D batch in a while, I'll see if I can make it crash by doing a 48 batch.
    scott
    Scott Plaisted
    2013 Desktop/spindle/VCP 9
    Maine

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Kennebunkport, Maine
    Posts
    4,072

    Default

    3 3D's open and recalculating along with a custom button run all open at the same time and no crash or even a "not responding".
    Think it must be something else maybe?
    No PVC here, so couldn't check.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Scott Plaisted
    2013 Desktop/spindle/VCP 9
    Maine

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Thorp, WI
    Posts
    2,672

    Default

    Steve, do you get a message about it creating/saving a 'Dump' file? If so, that is what you would send to Vectric support for diagnosis.
    Scott

    If guns kill people, I guess pencils misspell words, cars drive drunk and spoons make people fat.

    "Those who hammer their guns into plows, will plow for those who do not" - Thomas Jefferson




  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Garland Tx
    Posts
    2,227

    Default

    My open files are always 2D, but they often contain many, many vectors. Often over 400 MB of data in each… I supply my customers with several versions of a v-carving, so they can know what the options are, what the possibilities are.

    I’m not getting a “Dump file message” from Vectric, and suspect that the message is actually coming from windows. If I ignore the message and don’t shut down the program, hoping it will recover, I eventually get a message saying that my computer will reboot in 60 seconds… and it does, and there’s no stopping it!

    BTW, that noise in the background is my wife saying “save more often!”
    SG

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Jasper, TX
    Posts
    513

    Default

    Sound like the wife has the answer, but the systems now days just don't crash like they used too. There must be some other culprit.

Similar Threads

  1. New win98 pc. Getting "limite DOS memory" (Shopbot crashing)
    By artbot in forum ShopBotter Message Board
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-18-2015, 06:47 PM
  2. Help file crashing shopbot indexer
    By oddcoach in forum Indexer
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 03-03-2009, 10:21 PM
  3. Help! New Bot keeps crashing
    By scottbot in forum Archives2008
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 06-18-2008, 03:21 PM
  4. #4 Input woes, crashing during a run.....
    By johnm in forum Archives2007
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 11-23-2007, 05:10 AM
  5. PWDEMO Keeps Crashing
    By baltic_birch in forum Archives2006
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 12-31-2006, 10:24 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •