Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Customizing the G-code

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    42

    Default Customizing the G-code

    I got a question for you experts out there in ShopBotLand...

    I finally have the automatic toolchanger dialed in, and I'm able to use multiple tools in the same part file. Thank goodness!

    Now, the question that I have is this:
    Is there a way to customize the .sbp to raise the spindle to a safer z-height when traversing the table AFTER the SB has picked up the new tool? It wants to travel at the Z1 height, but most of the time I would rather have it travel at a higher z height to clear hold down clamps and stuff.

    What I have been doing is just going in and editing the g-code each time, but if there's a way to do it once and not have to worry about it every time, that would be awesome.
    PRS Alpha 96" x 60"

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    42

    Default

    Attached is a sample .sbp...
    Capture.jpg
    PRS Alpha 96" x 60"

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Thorp, WI
    Posts
    2,724

    Default

    You could change the Z1 and Z2 values in your design file, but that will affect travel between toolpath segments using the same tool as well. The other option is to modify your PP file to suit. Take a look at the Post Processor Editing Guide under Help in Vectric products.

    "He who would trade liberty for some temporary security, deserves neither liberty nor security" - Benjamin Franklin
    "Make yourself sheep and the wolves will eat you" - Benjamin Franklin
    "Symbolism is for the symbol minded" - George Carlin




  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Marquette, MI
    Posts
    3,380

    Default

    There are a couple things you can do to keep extra clearance.

    1) The "ATC" file that is the toolchange routine uses the variable "&ATC_safeclear" (or similar) as a safe Z height during toolchange. You may be able to either ensure this is at the end of the file, or add it to the rapid section of the post processor to ensure that you bit stays at that height.

    2) Another way is to use the "SAFE_PLUNGE_TO_STARTZ" feature. This allows you to keep a high height for clearance during rapids, and then jogs the bit to the lower height just before cutting. Info on this is in the post processer editing guide under the help menu.
    Gary Campbell
    GCnC Control
    GCnC411(at)gmail(dot)com
    ShopBot Controller Upgrades
    http://www.youtube.com/user/Islaww1


    "We can not solve our problems with the same level of thinking that created them"
    Albert Einstein


Similar Threads

  1. Cambium Code Web Tools – Parametric G-code Generation
    By CambiumMachines in forum Product/Supplier List and Requests
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-18-2012, 10:36 PM
  2. Shopbot Code VS G-Code?
    By rb99 in forum ShopBotter Message Board
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 01-17-2009, 10:08 AM
  3. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 05-05-2005, 03:51 PM
  4. 3ds to G-Code or better yet, SB
    By webbhead in forum Archives2004
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 08-30-2004, 01:59 PM
  5. Dxf or g code which is better????
    By bob in forum Archives - thru 2002
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-10-2001, 08:50 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •