Thread: Electric noise from torch

Johnajablonski@aol.com Guest

Default Electric noise from torch

I have mounted a plasma torch on my shopbot and it crashes quite often. It will usually make a single cut, but if it is a series of cuts with connect at Z pull-ups, it will freak out. I called Tech support and they said it was electric-noise. I noticed the cables which are provided are not shielded. Does anyone have experience with this phenomina ?

peter k Guest

what is the make and model of plasma machine that you are using? if it uses high frequency to start the arc then it is not suited for use on ANY cnc equipment . i have been cutting for 3 years now with no noise problems.

Johnajablonski@aol.com Guest

I have a Themo Dynamics Pac-25. It is a light duty, max1/4 inch cut. I like it very much because of it's clean cut and very narrow kerf. It operates at 20amp max. It does not seem to have a problem at a start but on pull-ups on the Z axis, which also is the closest axis to the torch.

Dave Provoncha Guest

You guys may want to look at plasma cam's web site to see what they recommend... high frequency is a real problem

blast@softcom.net Guest

We're just getting started with our SB . It's hooked to an ESAAB plasma cutter. None of us has formal training on programming. When we ran S_prbsbp.sbp it didn't stop when it went past the end of the part and lost contact. We also tried to run a program to drill holes with the step command, it would run over and over but not move the step unless it was in relative mode.
    Is there anyone on the west coast who could do a little tutoring in exchange for a slight fee or barter?

Hi Carol,

I might be able to help with your problems with the s_prbsbp routine. What kind of probe are you using with it and what's your pattern made of? Does it always get lost in the same place? And when it gets lost, did you notice if the indicator for that input switch in the ShopBot software is on, off, or flickering?