Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: 3d Carving help

Question 3d Carving help

Hi All!

So I'm cutting a deer scene piece in some basswood for a charity thing and not long into my finishing toolpath my tapered 1/8" ballnose bit snapped towards the top of the cutting threads. I haven't really cut anything 3d other than a few tests over the years in foam board so as far as feed rates and settings I'm no expert. Hell, I don't even have Aspire (yet)! I did my rough pass with a 1/4" endmill.

Attached is a screenshot of my toolpath setings in Partworks 3d, as well as a picture of the piece being cut and my broken bit. Looking at my settings, am I cutting this too fast?

Do I need to get rid of some of the excess wood around the long edge of my carve? It seems as if when it hits the edge of the cut it wants to take more of the boarder around the carving out with the ballnose bit and maybe because its a deeper cut it is putting too much stress on the ballnose bit? Any advice would be greatly appreciated! TIA.

IMG_2637.jpg
    IMG_2638.jpg
    Nate Sirek

Operations Manager;
    Shop Fabrication Manager
    House Partners Inc.
    West Saint Paul, MN

Shopbot 48 x 96 PRT Alpha
    220v 18000 RPM HSD Spindle
    4 Zone Vacuum Table, 7hp Spencer Re-Gen Blower
    Cabinet Parts Pro

10 Years Experience in a cabinet and counter top fabrication shop. CNC Newbie.

Nate, What VCP are you running?
    Only done a PW3D a few times,is there an offset/allowance in the roughing path to remove some of the border material?
    Speeds/feeds if anything seem a bit slow( maybe 1,1,16K? at least), and speeding up will allow a lower stepover (like 8%)for less sanding and a better finish?
    Bass Wood is a hand carvers delight, but may not be best for a CNC cut. Never cut, but they say it's a lot like Butternut which wasn't that hot for 3D.
    Listen to other people instead of me, but just my first thoughts from my couple of dozen cuts.
    scott