Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: ShopBot (arcs)(inch)(*.sbp) versus ShopBot Arc (inch) w/speed (*.sbp)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Pacific NW
    Posts
    82

    Default ShopBot (arcs)(inch)(*.sbp) versus ShopBot Arc (inch) w/speed (*.sbp)

    (Aspire 8.5): Can someone please explain when one would want the post processor 'w/speed' versus the one without? Seems like there would be a difference else why are there two choices? Thank you.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Garland Tx
    Posts
    2,215

    Default

    If you have a spindle that allows speed control within the program code, use the “with speed” version… the speeds you specify in your bit definitions will apply. None of the PC routers qualify…
    SG

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Pacific NW
    Posts
    82

    Default

    Thank you, Steve, that sounds great! I do have a spindle (Desktop MAX) with speed control (a box with knob control that I have only used when warming up the spindle), but until I learn more, I have just used the default settings that seem to populate the fields when I choose a bit. Sounds like I will be using the 'w/speed' post processor from now on. When I just used arc inches, was it ignoring the speed in the bit definitions? Many thanks.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Garland Tx
    Posts
    2,215

    Default

    Carolina…
    Someone with A desktop MAX will have to chime in here… Just because you can manually change the speed with a knob, doesn’t necessarily mean that the spindle is communicating with the computer… I don’t know if the MAX does.
    SG

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Kennebunkport, Maine
    Posts
    4,027

    Default

    If it's like the Desktop Carolina, then we have to manually adjust the VFD.
    Tech told me once that the Desktop controller and the VFD don't speak the same language.
    But that was Desktop, and 2 yrs ago.
    Easy enough to make a test file with 2 different RPMs and save using each to see if you can hear the difference?
    scott
    Scott Plaisted
    2013 Desktop/spindle/VCP 9
    Maine

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Pacific NW
    Posts
    82

    Default

    That sounds like a good test plan to try, thanks

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 1999
    Location
    Rock Hill SC
    Posts
    460

    Default

    If you have spindle control of speed from the SB3 program you have to have a small circuit board installed in your VFD. That circuit board has a USB plug that plugs into the control computer.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Pacific NW
    Posts
    82

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tlempicke View Post
    If you have spindle control of speed from the SB3 program you have to have a small circuit board installed in your VFD. That circuit board has a USB plug that plugs into the control computer.
    Thank you, I partially understand, I think. I can't look at my D Max for a few days. Pardon my ignorance, is the control computer part of the CNC innards (housed at one end of the machine), so look for a USB plug from the VFD to there? Or is the control computer my laptop and I would plug in there? Guessing inside the CNC innards. Sorry!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 1999
    Location
    Rock Hill SC
    Posts
    460

    Default

    In mine the circuit board is inside the VFD and a second USB plus goes to the control computer.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Kennebunkport, Maine
    Posts
    4,027

    Default

    Control Computer would be your laptop Carolina.
    Scott Plaisted
    2013 Desktop/spindle/VCP 9
    Maine

Similar Threads

  1. VectrIc Aspire shopbot arcs inch post processor MISSING...
    By johnh in forum ShopBotter Message Board
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-03-2015, 12:52 PM
  2. Z at 1 inch
    By Richardksmith in forum ShopBot Buddy
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-17-2014, 08:49 AM
  3. 1/8 inch bit source
    By toddmaci in forum ShopBotter Message Board
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 12-03-2009, 10:06 PM
  4. 1/2 inch to 1/8 inch collet
    By wemme in forum Archives2006
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-28-2006, 01:40 AM
  5. FYI: 2 inch Ultraboard
    By diapowder2000 in forum Archives2006
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-01-2006, 08:21 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •