Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 14 of 14

Thread: How might I change the position of a piece from a G-code file in SB3?

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Springfield Mo
    Posts
    774

    Default Start point

    There are a number of advantages of using the center point of the material as the starting point of the cut files. Say on a 20X30 inch piece the start point would 10,15

    It is difficult to get lost with this method.

    Of course you still cannot mount the material 90 degrees the wrong way....
    The decimal point seems to be the most important on the z axis... x & y not so much....
    ShopBot... Where even the scraps and things you mess up and throw away are cool....

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Delray Beach, FL
    Posts
    3,542

    Default

    Glad you got it figured out. Fiddling with z depth can also be a valuable tool. Say you cut a 3d in one pass and its a little too fuzzy for your taste. In a safe location you can move your z to say -.03, press "ZZ", and rerun the file to clean up the part.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Pacific NW
    Posts
    67

    Default

    That's cool, thanks! I love learning these kinds of tips.
    ShopBot Desktop MAX, spindle, 3" Indexer, Aspire 8.5, and a big learning curve...

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Kennebunkport, Maine
    Posts
    3,764

    Default

    A lot of times, simply running the toolpath again will reduce sanding to almost nothing.
    I'm lazy and hate to sand, and ruin fine details, and I learned that here on forum
    If you have any tearout, or mucked up settings a little, then Recutting deeper like Dave said can rescue a piece.
    Scott Plaisted
    2013 Desktop/spindle/VCP 9
    Maine

Similar Threads

  1. Tool Change Position on Shopbot PRT Standard
    By HelicopterJohn in forum ShopBotter Message Board
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-03-2014, 10:06 AM
  2. File runs out of code
    By r_jones in forum Part Wizard
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-31-2011, 12:33 PM
  3. can anyone change this excel file into a cad file?
    By knight_toolworks in forum ShopBotter Message Board
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 11-08-2010, 08:12 AM
  4. How can you piece CNC code
    By martin@custommetalproducts.bz in forum Archives Developers
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 01-27-2005, 12:37 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •