Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: IKEA cubicle door hack, 3D oval dragon in leopardwood

Default IKEA cubicle door hack, 3D oval dragon in leopardwood

My first 3D project, making an IKEA cubicle door (13x13 inches) inset for a family member who loves dragons. The cheap IKEA door had minor chipping from the profiling operation, so I made the inset a bit larger and then rabbeted (on my router table) the underside so it would 'overhang' the chipping/cover it up.

Done in an ~ 8 inch wide leopardwood board (I thought the spots had a reptile look) 0.87 thick

Finished with polywipe and paste wax with all the attendant brushing/buffings

Almost a shame to put exotic wood in the IKEA osb door, but the door is 'turnkey' for his cubicle system, and I'm still a beginner in woodworking (1 year) and CNC (a few months). Even solving all the problems was fun, pia moments notwithstanding.

The photo was taken in sunlight, hence the shadow cast from 9 o'clock to 2 o'clock onto the IKEA door
    Attached Images Attached Images
    ShopBot Desktop MAX, spindle, 3" Indexer, Aspire 9.5, and a big learning curve...

looks great!
    Daniel E.
    ShopBot PRS 48x96 (2010 Model)
    Porter Cable Router
    Vacuum Table w/ 2 Fein vacs
    Aspire 9.0

What I do when I don't mess up wood: http://www.pathhome.net

Thank you!
    ShopBot Desktop MAX, spindle, 3" Indexer, Aspire 9.5, and a big learning curve...

Looks good!! It's no longer a cheap IKEA door.

Excellent job.....
    "Even solving all the problems was fun, pia moments notwithstanding."

THAT ​is how you learn..."experience is the best teacher" good luck!
    Words of Wisdom:
    “Words that sink into your ears are whispered…… not yelled”
    “The biggest trouble maker you’ll probably ever have to deal with, watches you from the mirror every morn’n”
    “The only difference between a rut and a grave is the depth”
    -----------
    Just remember...when it's time for the hearse to pull up..there's no luggage rack on top!