Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: can i create a tool path that i can follow manually

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    58

    Default can i create a tool path that i can follow manually

    is there a way i can create a tool path that is the shape im going to cut but have it in a way that i can manually move the cutter along it so that i can make sure it is all inside the sheet or cut where it is supposed to.

    its a bit hard to explain what i mean. imagine the tool path a line that i am advancing the cutter along but without inputting x or y just forward and back along the tool path. kind of like a fastforwarding a video of it cutting.

    im using v carve pro 6 and sb v 3

    thanks alan

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Marquette, MI
    Posts
    3,380

    Default

    Alan...
    Manual move along a programmed path. Sorry, cant happen.
    Use the previewer with appropriate material size in VCPro.
    Toolpath and then use the previewer in SB3
    Gary Campbell
    GCnC Control
    GCnC411(at)gmail(dot)com
    ShopBot Controller Upgrades
    http://www.youtube.com/user/Islaww1


    "We can not solve our problems with the same level of thinking that created them"
    Albert Einstein


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Garland Tx
    Posts
    2,272

    Default

    Alan
    I often draw a vector that encompasses all the elements of a project, like a memorial plaque, and air cut on the line .1 inches above the material, to verify that the project fits on my material.
    This is especially important when you use substrates that are uneven…
    SG

    Attached Images Attached Images

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Clayton, NC
    Posts
    447

    Default

    I've got a project I'm working on that has some cuts that are very close to my hold down screws, I'm planning on running the bot w/ a sharpie in it to draw along the path to make sure I'm away from the hold down screws. You could do something similar. There's a thread on the site here somewhere about where to buy the sharpie holder.
    Daniel E.
    ShopBot PRS 48x96 (2010 Model)
    Porter Cable Router
    Vacuum Table w/ 2 Fein vacs
    Aspire 9.0

    What I do when I don't mess up wood: http://www.pathhome.net

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    58

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by steve_g View Post
    Alan
    I often draw a vector that encompasses all the elements of a project, like a memorial plaque, and air cut on the line .1 inches above the material, to verify that the project fits on my material.
    This is especially important when you use substrates that are uneven…
    SG

    thats half way to what i mean. i want to do similar to what your doing. i just want to make sure the cut is inside the piece. the problem with this is that if the piece is large or aqwardly shaped you have to lean in over the bed with the machine moving so you can see closely.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    58

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Gary Campbell View Post
    Alan...
    Manual move along a programmed path. Sorry, cant happen.
    Use the previewer with appropriate material size in VCPro.
    Toolpath and then use the previewer in SB3
    i was afraid of that. thanks anyway

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Jasper, TX
    Posts
    530

    Default

    tri4sale you could just place your hold down screws in your drawing and run a separate toolpath for them.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    58

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tri4sale View Post
    I've got a project I'm working on that has some cuts that are very close to my hold down screws, I'm planning on running the bot w/ a sharpie in it to draw along the path to make sure I'm away from the hold down screws. You could do something similar. There's a thread on the site here somewhere about where to buy the sharpie holder.
    i was thinking about this but you have to change the bit out and rezero the z .

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Garland Tx
    Posts
    2,272

    Default

    “you have to lean in over the bed with the machine moving”

    Ok, I think I understand your concerns… try this:

    • Draw a line that connects a series of points that are placed at the locations of concern…
    • Toolpath the line with zero depth of cut
    • Zero the Z axis to be above the material… say .1”
    • Add a “pause” command after each point in the .sbp file
    • Save the file, run it.




    This will allow you to look at each point with the machine stopped, hit “enter” to continue to the next point. BTW, when “Air Cutting” the router/spindle is not running…

    Not knowing your level of comfort with programming in the toolpath, I haven’t included any examples… I will if you’d like me to. It would be this evening though…
    SG

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    58

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by steve_g View Post
    “you have to lean in over the bed with the machine moving”

    Ok, I think I understand your concerns… try this:

    • Draw a line that connects a series of points that are placed at the locations of concern…
    • Toolpath the line with zero depth of cut
    • Zero the Z axis to be above the material… say .1”
    • Add a “pause” command after each point in the .sbp file
    • Save the file, run it.




    This will allow you to look at each point with the machine stopped, hit “enter” to continue to the next point. BTW, when “Air Cutting” the router/spindle is not running…

    Not knowing your level of comfort with programming in the toolpath, I haven’t included any examples… I will if you’d like me to. It would be this evening though…
    SG
    thanks steve
    im new to this. i could do with a few examples

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •