Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Z Zero Clip

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    West Columbia SC
    Posts
    79

    Default Z Zero Clip

    After five years I finally got to join the club of people who forget to unhook them.
    I was setting up to cut a small sign and my phone rang in the middle of zeroing the Z, stopped to answer the phone and when I got back proceeded to start cutting and you can guess what happened after that

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    SOUTH CENTRAL COLORADO
    Posts
    1,031

    Default

    I know that i have been doing this all wrong but it has worked for years. But i connect the clip to the screw/bolt that screws up against the router from the casing. Right or wrong it works. And on a few occasions I forgot to remove it. I am all ears about why i should not do this.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Brooklet, Ga
    Posts
    122

    Default

    I hook mine to one of the bolts on the spindle bracket and not the bit. Right after I clip it to the bolt I take the plate itself and lightly touch it to the tip of the bit to see if the green light comes on on the control panel to see if it makes a connection.
    2006 PRTalpha 96x48
    3hp SEV spindle
    Vcarve Pro8
    Always eager to consume large amounts of info, tips, and techniques!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Kennebunkport, Maine
    Posts
    3,724

    Default

    Rick,
    So long as when you tap plate to bit you get a green light on input 3(?), you're good to go.
    For Desktops, we're usually lucky with clipping to the left leveling leg.
    2 Desktops/3 years, and the clip has never been put on the spindle nut or bit.
    If you have a safe place for permanent clamping, it saves a lot of time in the long run(and you don't have to call Shopbot and ask how much they cost
    Just DON"T forget to tap plate EVERY time! Wires come loose/clamp shifts/etc. (don't ask
    scott
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Scott Plaisted
    Desktop/spindle/VCP 8.5**
    Maine

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Worthington MN
    Posts
    29

    Default

    When I got my alpha Buddy with a spindle, the alligator clip was clipped to the aluminum side plate. In 10 years, I have not moved that clip and so far the zeroing plate has functioned as attended.

    Is this dumb luck on my part and have I been functioning on thin ice? Please enlighten me.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Thorp, WI
    Posts
    2,449

    Default

    Generally, with a spindle, you don't need it. Might be some special cases like ceramic bearings.
    Scott

    If guns kill people, I guess pencils misspell words, cars drive drunk and spoons make people fat.

    "Those who hammer their guns into plows, will plow for those who do not" - Thomas Jefferson


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •