Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: proximity setup to a new zero

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Springfield, IL
    Posts
    190

    Default proximity setup to a new zero

    Can anyone tell me how to adjust the proximity switch? My new table top is centered on powerstick. When i home x and y using proximity switches...c3 command... it zero's to about half inch off table top. This is causing my Value limits to warn me about cutting larger than limits on a 48 x 48 perimeter practice cut. It cuts fine when i ignore VL warning... Not sure what i doing wrong. any help would be appreciated

    thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Thorp, WI
    Posts
    2,493

    Default

    Use Tools/ShopBot Setup and work your way through the prompts to set up/reset your prox switches to work with the tables new position or offset from the proxes.
    Scott

    If guns kill people, I guess pencils misspell words, cars drive drunk and spoons make people fat.

    "Those who hammer their guns into plows, will plow for those who do not" - Thomas Jefferson


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 1999
    Location
    Rock Hill SC
    Posts
    395

    Default

    Lay on the floor and look up at the power stick. You will see a bolt head that comes into close proximity with a hall effect sensor. Just move that bolt a bit to where you need it to be.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Thorp, WI
    Posts
    2,493

    Default

    Take a lot more time and effort gettin' that bolt in just the right spot than running the setup to get it exact. Not to mention the bumps on the head ;-)
    Scott

    If guns kill people, I guess pencils misspell words, cars drive drunk and spoons make people fat.

    "Those who hammer their guns into plows, will plow for those who do not" - Thomas Jefferson


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 1999
    Location
    Rock Hill SC
    Posts
    395

    Default

    Doing a job properly usually does take a bit more effort.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2,166

    Default

    I like my switches off the bed as I then can start a bit in the negative or move my bit off the bed to zero it when I have bit changes.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Springfield, IL
    Posts
    190

    Default

    Thank you srwtlc - Scott. I tried that approach earlier on and i had moved the pop-ups to read the messages. when the keypad popped up, i didn't see it because it was behind one i had moved. exactly what i needed to get properly set-up.

    Thank you again

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •