Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: working out hourly rate

Hybrid View

Default working out hourly rate

hi there.
    I'm a site carpenter mostly but am trying to move towards workshop based. I'm trained in the workshop.
    I know how to price up my hourly or daily rate on site etc because I know all the variables.

I'm struggling to think of all the variables and how to fairly work it out.
    things like cutter life and breakages,
    electricity used on the machine with dc ,pc vac table etc
    building special clamping jigs if needed,
    design time
    work on the cnc and work off it and how to integrate it into one formula.

right now all I can think to do is
    do a basic rate for the basic workshop with basic electricity ,insurance etc
    then add on a rate for each machine separately
    divide this into a few different categories like quick cuts , medium volume cuts and constant use so that I can try to charge for blades at different rates etc (lets say I was using a chop saw a small bit I might add 1 euro an hour but if its constant I would add 10 euro an hour or what ever it worked out at. )
    how else would you allow for the different costs on using each machine. . to run the planer for an hour would cost a lot more that a drill press or chop saw.
    it would be a very complicated way of doing it but fairly accurate. hopefully.
    how do you work it all out.
    I'm more worried about the cnc side of it because it can get very expensive fairly quick with bits and all the electricity etc