Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Two-Sided Job, Bleeder and Spoil Board

Default Two-Sided Job, Bleeder and Spoil Board

I'm a newbie who's PRS Alpha is not even finished construction yet. I'm planning my first job for when it's done and may have started with something over complicated for my meager experience.

I've watched the excellent tutorial on two-sided machining http://support.vectric.com/tutorials...hp?video_id=92 and laid out a two-sided job in VCarve 9.0.

My job has two holes for dowel pins that are drilled all the way through into the spoilboard for alignment when flipped. Since I have a vacuum system, the spoilboard is the bleeder board and I don't like the idea of drilling into it and risking breaking the vacuum if I go too deep.

The tutorial assumes you are drilling new holes into the spoilboard each time, but I don't want to do that. I only want to drill into the bleeder once.

Suggestions? How do I maintain alignment when flipped without risking damage to my bleeder-spoilboard?

You can add a sacrificial spoil board to your vacuum spoil board using the vacuum to hold it down and then drill into that for your dowel pins. Just make it big enough for that particular job each time...joe

You don't need dowel holes...it's kind of a kludge for flip ops & as you are discovering in your mind's eye, counterproductive for vacuum hold down setups.

The *most important* thing with 2-sided work is properly dimensioning and measuring the raw material block before it goes on the machine. Assuming you'll flip the part towards/away from you using the long X axis as an axle of sorts (flip in Y direction), the Z thickness of the part AND the Y front to back dimension is critical. Any deviation in the Y dim will result in 2X the error and the part will be shifted. In the Z, you could either gouge the part or leave a thin plenum of material in the middle.