Thread: woodworking school

Hybrid View

Default woodworking school

We are getting closer to approaching the school board in our area about offering a votech type class for high school students and I would like some pricing strategy for the class. We have joined up with the WCA (woodwork career alliance) and will be setting up the students with passports and using WCA study guides.

I know we have a few teachers out here and would like to use there wisdom to help get setup.

Thanks
    Tim
    Tim Lucas Custom Woodworks
    www.TLCW.us

I'm a substitute teacher for my local high school, plus I spend a lot of days volunteering in the wood shop to help the kids. The shop teach and I have approached the school administration on a couple of occasions in regards to the WCA program. They were all in favor, but wouldn't pony up any funds to get me and the teach certified with WCA. That alone is expensive.

Another thing we noticed is the apathy in kids today. They just don't care about anything except their cell phones. They want instant gratification (which has been drilled into to them by technology). They don't put anything away. They abuse tools like crazy. And they don't like to be instructed on the proper use of tools and following procedures. Lots of tools grow legs and disappear. They pretty much ignore safety rules if they think they can get away with it.