Thread: JTech Add-on lasers for Shopbot

Default JTech Add-on lasers for Shopbot

In this thread Brady mentioned a JTech laser option for the Shopbot. I read about it on the JTech website.

Is there anyone on this forum, who has this add-on, and would be willing to share their experiences with not only the product but also the company? Product quality; complexity of installation (physical and electrical); customer support quality (it's tough to compare with Shopbot or Vectric); longevity of the product; pluses and minuses of going this route versus a dedicated laser, etc. I have a 2009 PRSAlpha 96x60 CNC.

My plan is to not do cutting with it (I have access to the local high school shop where they have a really big laser machine, and I'm a volunteer teacher and a substitute teacher). That's what I have a Shopbot CNC for. I would, however, like to start doing some engraving work and don't have the budget, or the physical shop space, for one of the standalone machines.

Thanks!!
    Don
    Diamond Lake Custom Woodworks, LLC
    www.dlwoodworks.com
    Life is not a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in one pretty and well preserved piece; But to skid in broadside, thoroughly used up, worn out, bank accounts empty, credit cards maxed out, defiantly shouting "Geronimo"!

If you make something idiot proof, all they do is create a better idiot.

I'm interested to know this too. I looked at their site and did a little reading and it doesn't look too hard to integrate (that's what he said). I'd be interest in engraving wood, not much more. As if I really need something else...
    ShopBot Desktop 24x18
    Spindle
    VCarve Pro 8.5xx
    ScottP Super Deluxe Spoilboard

Don,