Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Shopbot Control 3.8.46- is there a 64bit version?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Blaine Mn
    Posts
    292

    Default Shopbot Control 3.8.46- is there a 64bit version?

    I got a 64bit win10 laptop with my BT48 and when the control program froze [again], I noticed in the task manager that it is listed as a 32bit program. I don't see a 64bit on the SB site. Thanks Gene

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Thorp, WI
    Posts
    2,572

    Default

    Nope, 32bit is what it is.

    Be sure to set up your new laptop so that everything is on all the time, no sleep or low power states when on AC (do not run on battery when connected to the the machine). Go through all settings for power management (advanced settings), as well as disabling USB selective suspend.
    Scott

    If guns kill people, I guess pencils misspell words, cars drive drunk and spoons make people fat.

    "Those who hammer their guns into plows, will plow for those who do not" - Thomas Jefferson


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Blaine Mn
    Posts
    292

    Default

    Thank you Scott- you are the man. I have set the power scheme but forgot the USB power disable. I am struggling with Win10- have many puters with win7pro and a couple tablets with Win 8.1. I will give your two solutions a try in the morning... kinda played out for today I think. I have been building a variation of the popular dust boot [cannot remember the name right now] that allows the exhaust tubing to come off with the brush [made on my laser]. If I can get the SB to run... I think it will work a treat. GeneDust shoe.jpg

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2,255

    Default

    I like to use a program called classic shell that makes a windows 10 act like a windows 7 machine

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Durham NC
    Posts
    57

    Default

    Can confirm, I use classic shell on all of my Windows 8.1 computers (I kinda like win10, I know I'm weird, so i don't use it there).
    I'll provide the computer setup info we recommend in support for you here as well as attachments. read the intro first

    comp setup intro.pdf

    Windows Notes.pdf

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Blaine Mn
    Posts
    292

    Default

    Thank you both. I just ordered a recond. Dell with Win7pro. I believe that the laptop I got with this used SB is not working very well, along with the Win10 issues. I like Win 8.1 on my tablets but otherwise I have a half dozen Win7 puters and am too old [and tired] to mess with any more problems.
    Tom- I will use your pdfs to setup this new laptop, thanks. Gene

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •