Thread: New puter, no spindle again.

Default New puter, no spindle again.

It is me again, spent the morning on setting up a new puter for my BT48 Alpha to replace the Win10 laptop that was provided with this machine. I do not bond with W10 [except on a tablet] so I got a Win 7pro which I am very familiar with. The old laptop had USB issues and I had to restart every time SB3 crashed [often] and I could not find anything on it... that is my issue, I understand. I am new to Alpha machines and finally got the spindle to run and [I thought] learned a lot about it... not so. I am happy with this laptop and no crashing and restarting.

I cannot get the VFD to light up. I have the RPM window open and it is set to port 3. Looking at the usb ports with USBview there is a SB on 1 & 2, nothing on 3, and my mouse is on 4 [these are all on a hub- provided with the machine and plugged in the same as on the other puter]. I can punch output 1 [and 2 &3- nothing on 4] and no response. I have tried C5, C6 and everything I can think of. And, of course, the reset and start and the key lock out. Both power sources are good. There is some detail here holding an old fart back. Any ideas? Gene

Hey Gene,

The VFD should power up (as you say, light up) when you turn on the control box and push reset. Troubleshoot just that first. Power in to the control box and out to the VFD. Some were 110 and 220 in (mine's that way) and some all 220 in. There should be some schematics on SB's site as well.
    Scott

Thanks Scott- the solenoids work fine and I have power to the VFD, something is not triggering the small cable from the main circuit board to the VFD. I just dropped an email to support and I am sure they will straighten me out. Gene

Have you tried unplugging the usb that goes to the spindle and replugging it in

The spindle will run without the USB RPM control dongle connected, just unplug that for now.