Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 3D MOLD - Advice on Cutting

Default 3D MOLD - Advice on Cutting

Hello All,

I have been making 3D wooden molds for a few months now; and have learned alot about the shopbot and cutting techniques from this forum.

I am currently working on a mold with 1/8" radiuses. Normally, I would rough out the mold with a 1/2" ball nose and finish with a 1/4" ball nose.

Should I rough out the mold with the 1/2" or 1/4" ball nose? I am concerned about the difference in cutting diameter going from the 1/2" ball nose to the 1/8" ball nose.

The 1/8" ball nose is 1/4" tapered shank end mill.

Also, any advice on feed and speed for 1/8" ball nose in maple wood would be appreciated. I use an online chip load normally if I am cross checking myself.

-Zach

Shouldn't have any problems roughing with a 1/2" and finishing with the 1/8"BN. 3D cutting at 3ips X,Y, and Z feeds at 12Krpm should do the trick.
    2006 PRTalpha 96x48
    3hp SEV spindle
    Vcarve Pro8
    Always eager to consume large amounts of info, tips, and techniques!

Thumbs up

Quote Originally Posted by guitarwes View Post
    Shouldn't have any problems roughing with a 1/2" and finishing with the 1/8"BN. 3D cutting at 3ips X,Y, and Z feeds at 12Krpm should do the trick.
    Thanks! Saves me from going forward blind. Good to know I had the Feed and Speed on the money.

Thumbs down

Had my first bit break.

What would cause the roughing cut and finishing cut on a part not to line up properly? Assuming all temporary zeroing is the same, the Z is zero, and the part is held in place....

The issue is only visible in the x axis, y axis seems fine.

I have been having this issue with a number of the molds I work on, usually I am able to fix the issue with a second finishing cut slightly lowered. But today it cost me a new bit...

What am I doing wrong?

-Zach

What material, bit, RPM, feed rate and pass depth were you running?

-B