Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Part file Error

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Location
    Cashiers NC
    Posts
    10

    Exclamation Part file Error

    What a Monday! Came into work today and the shopbot run 2 toolpaths from fine from what my coworker said. He went to C3 and rezero and now all we can get is this part file error message and can not get it to change tools or anything.

    Input past end of file (62)
    Line - 0:
    C:\SbParts\Custom\ATC_Local_Data\ATC_Tool|Variable s.sbc

    Hopefully someone can HELP!?

    thanks in advance!!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Memphis TN
    Posts
    703

    Default

    I'm guessing you've had a harddrive failure.
    ShopBot Details:
    PRS Alpha 96x60x12
    4hp Spindle
    12" indexer
    Aspire
    Rhino

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Lancashire, UK
    Posts
    64

    Default Ctrl Alt Del

    Dear Chad

    My first reaction would be to shut everything down, PC and ShopBot - power off on all switches. Wait a while, at least long enough for the lights to go out on the monitors.

    (be careful) Make sure all three proximity switches are clear. Re-boot and hey-presto; C3 and C2.

    Sincerely and in good faith
    Martin

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Diamond Lake, WA
    Posts
    1,615

    Default

    One thing I've noted in the Shopbot control software is problems when you shut it down. Sometimes the configuration files get corrupted when the software goes to update them on shutdown. I've turned my system off on Friday after cutting plywood for 10 straight hours, turned it on Monday morning and it's all screwed up. I know nothing happended to it while it was turned off so my only conclusion is that the files somehow got corrupted when I shut it down Friday. This has happened to me on multiple occasions in the past 10 years I've had the machine. I don't have a clue what else it could be...
    Don
    Diamond Lake Custom Woodworks, LLC
    www.dlwoodworks.com
    ***********************************
    Life is not a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in one pretty and well preserved piece; But to skid in broadside, thoroughly used up, worn out, bank accounts empty, credit cards maxed out, defiantly shouting "Geronimo"!

    If you make something idiot proof, all they do is create a better idiot.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Memphis TN
    Posts
    703

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dlcw View Post
    One thing I've noted in the Shopbot control software is problems when you shut it down. Sometimes the configuration files get corrupted when the software goes to update them on shutdown. I've turned my system off on Friday after cutting plywood for 10 straight hours, turned it on Monday morning and it's all screwed up. I know nothing happended to it while it was turned off so my only conclusion is that the files somehow got corrupted when I shut it down Friday. This has happened to me on multiple occasions in the past 10 years I've had the machine. I don't have a clue what else it could be...
    Do you end the SB control software prior to shutdown or just turn off the computer? If the program is ended prior to a controlled shutdown, there shouldn't be any issues with files. In theory, doing a controlled shutdown without ending the SB control software should also result in no corrupted files. If you're running software prior to Win7, then that might not be the case.
    ShopBot Details:
    PRS Alpha 96x60x12
    4hp Spindle
    12" indexer
    Aspire
    Rhino

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Diamond Lake, WA
    Posts
    1,615

    Default

    I always shut down the software before shutting down the CNC or the computer. Windows 7 Pro.
    Don
    Diamond Lake Custom Woodworks, LLC
    www.dlwoodworks.com
    ***********************************
    Life is not a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in one pretty and well preserved piece; But to skid in broadside, thoroughly used up, worn out, bank accounts empty, credit cards maxed out, defiantly shouting "Geronimo"!

    If you make something idiot proof, all they do is create a better idiot.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    near Atlanta, Georgia
    Posts
    107

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dlcw View Post
    I always shut down the software before shutting down the CNC or the computer. Windows 7 Pro.
    Absolutely. As a former IT guy that is ALWAYS the thing to do, without exception. A LOT goes on behind the scenes following an EXIT. I also almost NEVER use a Restart. It's 95% the same as Start but can make a difference. In the mainframe world we called it 'shut down all the way to the wall' - we literally had a breaker box.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Memphis TN
    Posts
    703

    Default

    I may have cold booted my control computer twice in five years. Never a problem... (Not saying it won't happen though!)

    Typically, when finished with a job, I shut down the program, then when the program has exited, the SB, then press the power button on the computer to put it to sleep. Windows 7 with no updates since 2013.

    The best advice is a complete power down though.
    ShopBot Details:
    PRS Alpha 96x60x12
    4hp Spindle
    12" indexer
    Aspire
    Rhino

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Location
    Cashiers NC
    Posts
    10

    Default

    We was able to figure it out. Austin said it was an ordeal and about a half a day fix on the phone with ShopBot tech support. Something was corrupt in the ATC tool change file. Needless to say we made backup files for both computers for the Control Software.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    near Atlanta, Georgia
    Posts
    107

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by coryatjohn View Post
    I may have cold booted my control computer twice in five years. Never a problem... (Not saying it won't happen though!)

    Typically, when finished with a job, I shut down the program, then when the program has exited, the SB, then press the power button on the computer to put it to sleep. Windows 7 with no updates since 2013.

    The best advice is a complete power down though.
    I might possibly have been mis-understood. I was referencing the PC computer only. I only shut down the control box if there is an issue or other reason to do so - which is seldom.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •