Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: CNC Pressure Foot

Default CNC Pressure Foot

Looking at adding a pressure foot to my ShopBot for cutting some small pieces, and this is only one I've found:

http://www.widgetworksunlimited.com/...ure-sb_prs.htm

2 questions, first has anyone used this pressure foot and if so what are your thoughts?

Secondly, does anyone know of any other pressure foot designs out there?

thanks
    Daniel E.
    ShopBot PRS 48x96 (2010 Model)
    Porter Cable Router
    Vacuum Table w/ 2 Fein vacs
    Aspire 9.0

What I do when I don't mess up wood: http://www.pathhome.net

I've been using it for about 18 months. I double side machine numerous small parts with plenty of small holes out of 4' x 8' x.125" sheets of polycarbonate. The parts are tabbed but testing with both up and down cut bits without the pressure foot resulted in too much flex and damaged parts. The pressure foot was the only solution and it works great.

been using it for years. you still need some way to hold the sheet in place. I use it keep thin plastic from lifting up when I cut it. but there are other methods depending on what your cutting. what I dont like is the time it takes to get it up and running. depending on the material sometimes you can use a straight bit.

Three words: Double Sided Tape.
    ShopBot Details:
    2013 PRS 96x60x12 (Centroid upgrade)
    4hp Spindle
    12" indexer
    Aspire
    Rhino
    Fusion 360
    Ferrari 360
    Prusa MK3S+
    Prusa XL multi-tool

Quote Originally Posted by coryatjohn View Post
    Three words: Double Sided Tape.
    well unless it is a 4x8 sheet. a compromise is to spray one side of the material or table with strong contact glue and then vacuum it down. that works well but it is a bit messy and it can get expensive. I use the foot when ti is the only solution.