Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: How do I add a slope to a 2d part? Video tutorial?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Pearl MS
    Posts
    19

    Default How do I add a slope to a 2d part? Video tutorial?

    I have a simple 2d file I need to add a slope to.
    1. Not sure if this is 2.5d or 3d.
    2. Can someone point me to a training video on this? I have V-carve pro 8.5.


    Thanks.
    Jimmy Walker.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Memphis TN
    Posts
    813

    Default

    Try searching Google for Aspire rail sweep. You can do some pretty impressive things with that feature.
    ShopBot Details:
    PRS Alpha 96x60x12
    4hp Spindle
    12" indexer
    Aspire
    Rhino

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Thorp, WI
    Posts
    2,724

    Default

    With VCP5, try playing around with the fluting toolpath strategy.
    Attached Images Attached Images

    "He who would trade liberty for some temporary security, deserves neither liberty nor security" - Benjamin Franklin
    "Make yourself sheep and the wolves will eat you" - Benjamin Franklin
    "Symbolism is for the symbol minded" - George Carlin




  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Kennebunkport, Maine
    Posts
    4,255

    Default

    With VCP8.5....+1 for Fluting toolpath(but Moulding toolpath maybe).
    Just a couple pics to get you started.
    Be aware Fluting toolpath uses the center of whatever bit you use, so adjust for radius of bit.
    Linear array gap..think of it as stepover on a 3D....kind of a compromise,as if you go to wide there will be scalloping on top edge from Radius of the bit.
    This is just down and dirty example....usually I do the first line as a separate Fluting toolpath with normal pass depth settings.
    Then pick them all with max depth....as you're only cutting the stepover.
    Very versatile toolpath with both Copy Array and Circular Array.
    Hope this helps.
    scott

    Oops..first pic should be Y gap of .03" and shifted over -X by radius of bit +
    Attached Images Attached Images
    scott P.
    2013 Desktop/spindle/VCP 10
    Maine

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Pearl MS
    Posts
    19

    Default

    Thanks guys!!

    Your help is always greatly appreciated!!!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Thorp, WI
    Posts
    2,724

    Default

    One more trick with the fluting toolpath, to go with ScottP's first pass depth settings, is to change the start point of the second line and then do your array. That way, when toolpathed to use start points, it will alternate back and forth instead of retracting and going back to the beginning of each line. Need to use a small or zero clearance gap then too.

    "He who would trade liberty for some temporary security, deserves neither liberty nor security" - Benjamin Franklin
    "Make yourself sheep and the wolves will eat you" - Benjamin Franklin
    "Symbolism is for the symbol minded" - George Carlin




Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •