Thread: Poor cut quality in plex

Default Poor cut quality in plex

I've been cutting plex (cast 3/8") for about six months now. Edqe quality hasn't been perfect, but good enough to please my client. I use a 0 flute Onsrud 1/4" cutter (63-726) running about 23K on my PC890 router at about 90ips.

Recently, I took a break from the plex to cut about 10 sheets of MDF basically into strips, so quite a few feet in cuts.

Went back to cutting plex and my edge quality dropped considerably. Now, instead of pretty clean verticle shear cuts, I have angled cuts with a lot of very small tear outs. If you have the patience, check the URL, I didn't think there would be enough quality to really see the picture with the limitations on posting photos here.

www.cncworks.biz/images/plex.jpg

I've changed routers, used a new bit, cleaned and lubed my ways and rack and pinion. Wiggled, pushed and prodded all to no avail.

I'm posting here in hopes that someone will have experienced this and point me in a good direction to get back to where I was.

Thanks up front for any considerations.

Donn

Donn,

I have no experiance in cutting plexi yet, however I have experianced the same "angled cuts" in HDPE. The tool is obviously vibrating.

Things I would question; Is the plexi from the same batch as before? Is the tool properly colleted? Did the bearings suffer from cutting the MDF? Why use an 1 1/2" CEL tool to cut 3/8" material? (All the above potential problems are multiplied by the excessive tool length.

Good Luck!

Donn,
    Any changes in design software (like Corel vs. PartWizard) or CAM posts (Shopbot_Inch vs. Shopbot_Arcs_Inch)??? Any changes in ramping settings?