Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Total runtime

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2019
    Posts
    44

    Default Total runtime

    Is there a file within the SB control software that records the total machine runtime?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Diamond Lake, WA
    Posts
    1,663

    Default

    There is a log file that has all this info in it. I believe it's in the \\Shopbot subdirectory.
    Don
    Diamond Lake Custom Woodworks, LLC
    www.dlwoodworks.com
    ***********************************
    Life is not a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in one pretty and well preserved piece; But to skid in broadside, thoroughly used up, worn out, bank accounts empty, credit cards maxed out, defiantly shouting "Geronimo"!

    If you make something idiot proof, all they do is create a better idiot.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2019
    Posts
    44

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dlcw View Post
    There is a log file that has all this info in it. I believe it's in the \\Shopbot subdirectory.
    I see the log files for the individual jobs however, haven’t found one for the TOTAL runtime of the machine

    I dig a little deeper when I get back into the shop

    Thanks for the info

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Kennebunkport, Maine
    Posts
    4,243

    Default

    I very possibly could be wrong,
    But I believe you would have had to have the "Shopbot Odometer" installed.....It can be downloaded here under Shopbot Labs;
    https://www.shopbottools.com/support/software
    Scott P.
    2013 Desktop/spindle/VCP 10
    Maine

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2019
    Posts
    44

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by scottp55 View Post
    I very possibly could be wrong,
    But I believe you would have had to have the "Shopbot Odometer" installed.....It can be downloaded here under Shopbot Labs;
    https://www.shopbottools.com/support/software
    Thanks Scott. I downloaded the file and will attempt o load it tomorrow

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Willis Wharf, VA
    Posts
    1,695

    Default

    All the Odometer does is to make the data from the System Log file a little easier to read by simplifying the amount of info that's displayed.

    For the Odometer to work, in The VD (Values Display) menu make sure that you have "Write System Log" set to 1-Write. I tend to keep "Write Part File Log" set to 0-Don't Write to keep from having a log file for every file i run, but that's a personal preference

    Screenshot 2020-06-07 07.05.36.jpg
    Last edited by bill.young; 06-07-2020 at 07:29 AM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2019
    Posts
    44

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bill.young View Post
    All the Odometer does is to make the data from the System Log file a little easier to read by simplifying the amount of info that's displayed.

    For the Odometer to work, in The VD (Values Display) menu make sure that you have "Write System Log" set to 1-Write. I tend to keep "Write Part File Log" set to 0-Don't Write to keep from having a log file for every file i run, but that's a personal preference

    Screenshot 2020-06-07 07.05.36.jpg
    Hummmm, thanks for the info Bill. I originally had the file set to write however, soon learned I didn’t want all the logs so disabled it. That being said I think I’ll install an external hour meter.

    Thanks guys for all your input.

    Ron

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Willis Wharf, VA
    Posts
    1,695

    Default

    Hey Ron,

    Remember that there are two type of log files. The Part File Log option writes a separate log file for each file you run...it's the one that write all the extra files...but the System Log option only write one file that it appends whenever any file is run.

    The Odometer reads that System Log and ignores anything that's run in Preview mode so only counts files that are run in Cut mode. It keeps a running tally and also lets you export as a spreadsheet if you want to do something interesting with the data.

    If you want to keep track of how long your ShopBot is powered on though, an hour meter connected to the power is the best solution. The odometer just counts when a file is cutting

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •