Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: How to zero a diamond drag bit

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2022
    Posts
    4

    Default How to zero a diamond drag bit

    Hey folks,

    Relatively new user of a Desktop Max. Just purchased a diamond drag bit for engraving on nickel-plated stainless steel and set up the operation in V-carve.

    I'm at a loss how to zero it though since it won't work with my Z-plate. Does anyone have experience with this? Sorry if this is something that's been discussed a million times. I'm new to this forum.

    Jay

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Springfield Mo
    Posts
    849

    Default a few 1000ths at a time

    You can simply bump the bit down/ MZ ... a few 1000ths at a time ... until you can "feel" it touching the top of your Z-plate.

    Once you are there, use the VA command to set the Z axis as the thickness of your plate ... say .127
    The decimal point seems to be the most important on the z axis... x & y not so much....
    ShopBot... Where even the scraps and things you mess up and throw away are cool....

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2022
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Thank you for your quick response. Let me make sure I'm going to do this correctly. I just manually move the bit until it touches the Z-plate. Then, I just set the Z to .127 using the VA command? That seems simple enough.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Thorp, WI
    Posts
    2,818

    Default

    Make it a bit simpler yet, use a piece of paper, bring it down close with the keypad and then switch the keypad from continuous to incremental (fixed distance) and set a small amount for the movement distance. Nudge it down until the paper drags with some resistance or just to the point that you can't slip it without tearing. At that point, hit ZZ. Done, turn off fixed distance and jog up.
    Scott

    "It’s easier to fool everyone than it is to convince them they've been fooled" - Mark Twain





  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2022
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Both methods seem straightforward. Thanks to both of you for your advice!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Springfield Mo
    Posts
    849

    Default plate thickness

    If your plate is .127 inches thick... set it to that when it touches... not sure what your plate thickness is
    The decimal point seems to be the most important on the z axis... x & y not so much....
    ShopBot... Where even the scraps and things you mess up and throw away are cool....

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •