Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Burning issues

Default Burning issues

I'm cutting 3/4" ac plywood on a prt alpha, and having some difficulty controlling the smoke and burning... as well as breaking bits. I'm running 1/4" Onsurd 2-flute upsiral at 12000 rpms/1.7-2.0 ips and steping down anywhere from .1-.35. Not sure if that information is helpful, or even if I'm using the correct terms, I'm pretty new to this machine, and running a shopbot in general. Has anyone else run into this, and if so, could you offer any solutions?

Rob,
    At 2-ips, 12,000 RPM and 2-flutes, your chipload is only 0.005. I like a chipload of at least 0.015, which requires a feed speed of 6-ips. At low feed speeds, I use a 1-flute cutter and still run at about 3-ips.

I've found that a cutter can dull in a very short time if the chipload is too low. A dull cutter will burn its way through the wood.

Agreed, you are cutting too slow. I cut 3/4" ply at 14k RPM with a 2 flute up cut at 5 ips in 2 passes. That's about 0.11 chipload, which I've found to be OK for 2 passes.

If your bits are smoking and heating up they are probably already dull, I'd start with a fresh bit at the new speeds and pass depths to see the best results.

Robert

Thanks for the feedback. I have tried a new bit, 1/4" 2 flute upcut, and increased the feedrate to 5 ips at 14000rpm's, and seem to still be getting a significant amount of burning, and the machine is actually "stuttering" which causes a fault. Is there anything else I could try to resolve this?

Rob,

Still getting smoking!