Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Weird things happening

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    1

    Default Weird things happening

    I have written code that will cut 6 rows of 16 at specific locations. It uses two different bits for each block of wood. On the 16th block it cut using the first bit and never made it to the second bit and started cutting with the first bit again. The cut files are cut.sbp and cut_f.sbp (depending on the row). I have verified the movements in these files, and there shouldn't be any weird activity. Could it be that the files are corrupted? I've attached some of the code below.

    &cola = 0
    &colb = 7
    &col2a = 0
    &col2b = 7
    &col3a = 0
    &col3b = 7
    &col4a = 0
    &col4b = 7
    &col5a = 0
    &col5b = 7
    &col4 = 0
    &col6 = 0

    check1a:
    IF &cola = 0 THEN J2 .0312,&cola*3.6875
    IF &cola = 8 THEN GOTO check1b
    &cola = &cola + 1
    FP cut.sbp,1,1,1,1,2
    IF &cola < 8 THEN JY &cola*3.6875
    IF &cola < 8 THEN GOTO check1a

    check1b:
    IF &colb = 7 THEN J2 .0625,&colb*3.6875
    IF &colb = 16 THEN GOTO check2a
    &colb = &colb + 1
    FP cut.sbp,1,1,1,1,2
    IF &colb < 16 THEN JY &colb*3.6875
    IF &colb < 16 THEN GOTO check1b

    check2a:
    IF &col2a = 0 THEN J2 30.5,&col2a*3.6875
    IF &col2a = 8 THEN GOTO check2b
    &col2a = &col2a + 1
    FP cut_f.sbp,1,1,1,1,2
    IF &col2a < 8 THEN JY &col2a*3.6875
    IF &col2a < 8 THEN GOTO check2a

    check2b:
    IF &col2b = 7 THEN J2 30.479,&col2b*3.6875
    IF &col2b = 16 THEN GOTO check3a
    &col2b = &col2b + 1
    FP cut_f.sbp,1,1,1,1,2
    IF &col2b < 16 THEN JY &col2b*3.6875
    IF &col2b < 16 THEN GOTO check2b

    check3a:
    IF &col3a = 0 THEN J2 30.9375,&col3a*3.6875
    IF &col3a = 8 THEN GOTO check3b
    &col3a = &col3a + 1
    FP cut.sbp,1,1,1,1,2
    IF &col3a < 8 THEN JY &col3a*3.6875
    IF &col3a < 8 THEN GOTO check3a

    check3b:
    IF &col3b = 7 THEN M2 31,&col3b*3.6875
    IF &col3b = 16 THEN GOTO check4a
    &col3b = &col3b + 1
    FP cut.sbp,1,1,1,1,2
    IF &col3b < 16 THEN JY &col3b*3.6875
    IF &col3b < 16 THEN GOTO check3b

    check4:
    IF &col4 = 0 THEN J2 61.4375,&col4*3.6875
    IF &col4 = 16 THEN GOTO check5a
    &col4 = &col4 + 1
    FP cut_f.sbp,1,1,1,1,2
    IF &col4 < 16 THEN JY &col4*3.6875
    IF &col4 < 16 THEN GOTO check4

    check5a:
    IF &col5a = 0 THEN J2 61.9062,&col5a*3.6875
    IF &col5a = 8 THEN GOTO check5b
    &col5a = &col5a + 1
    FP cut.sbp,1,1,1,1,2
    IF &col5a < 8 THEN JY &col5a*3.6875
    IF &col5a < 8 THEN GOTO check5a

    check5b:
    IF &col5b = 7 THEN M2 61.9218,&col5b*3.6875
    IF &col5b = 16 THEN GOTO check6
    &col5b = &col5b + 1
    FP cut.sbp,1,1,1,1,2
    IF &col5b < 16 THEN JY &col5b*3.6875
    IF &col5b < 16 THEN GOTO check5b

    check6:
    IF &col6 = 0 THEN J2 92.375,&col6*3.6875
    IF &col6 = 16 THEN GOTO check7
    &col6 = &col6 + 1
    FP cut_f.sbp,1,1,1,1,2
    IF &col6 < 16 THEN JY &col6*3.6875
    IF &col6 < 16 THEN GOTO check6

    check7:
    END

    END

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    West Des Moines, Iowa
    Posts
    386

    Default

    Matthew...

    Two bits? I don't see any code here (not even a PAUSE) that would indicate that you intend to do a bit change.

    What am I missing?

    ...Morris

  3. #3
    rnels Guest

    Default

    Matthew,

    What size table do you have? Are you using mm or inches?

    Ran your code through the simulator with the FP's commented out and seems to position OK. If you are using inches it appears to be going over 48 inches for a couple of cuts. If you have a 48 inch table and are using inches this may be an issue. Also, your first cuts in a row appear to be at Y = 0. Maybe you are setting up your material to allow for this.

    You may want to run the ShopBot 3 simulator single stepping through your code. Under File dropdown use FG instead of FP. Maybe you are already aware of this feature but it has helped me in the past.

    Randy

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    , Alpharetta Georgia
    Posts
    155

    Default

    I decided to post here because what's happening to me is wierd. I've never encountered this problem. I'm in the process of cutting aluminum brackets for a belt reduction on my new machine. All holes for bracket are visually in line in Parts Wizard. If I run a preview of part in SB it looks right in preview. I'm using a piece of 1/4 inch hardboard to test fit before I tackle the aluminum. When I cut, only certain holes are off consistantly around 1/2 an inch and it is very visable in part. Others like mounting holes for stepper are exact. I've marked board to make sure of no movement. The only thing I can think of is to start over and do a clean install on the bot. Anyone had this problem?

    Dirk

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    , Alpharetta Georgia
    Posts
    155

    Default

    Not so weird anymore. After all the testing of the geckos, I got used to high jog speeds. My jog was set to high and I was loosing steps, Problem solved.

Similar Threads

  1. Unexpected Return Error! Why is this happening?
    By SomeGuys2007 in forum Troubleshooting
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-17-2015, 06:44 AM
  2. Not sure whats happening
    By toddmaci in forum Indexer
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 01-17-2009, 07:53 PM
  3. Very weird (to me at least) bit.
    By bsilva in forum Archives2008
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-10-2008, 01:30 PM
  4. What's happening here?
    By joewino in forum Archives2007
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-05-2007, 04:56 PM
  5. Z Plate - Something Odd Happening.
    By thecustomsignshop in forum Archives2006
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-15-2006, 09:22 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •