Thread: Software design - Is AutoCad 2000 compatible

freedomsong Guest

Default Software design - Is AutoCad 2000 compatible

I need some direction or guidance as to what are the first steps with familiarising oneself with the Shopbot software and other design tools. I have a PC running on Windows XP with Corel Draw, Photoshop and AutoCad 2000. I'm an experienced operator with Corel and Photoshop but a novice to AutoCad 2000 but very keen to get my head around the magic this program can perform. My partner and I are interested in purchasing a PRT96, but thought initially if I can get up to speed on the design side, then we wouldn't waste any down time once the tool has been purchased. I have seen there are downloadable files on the website, but a bit confused as to which one's to download and are they programs where I can start teaching myself the primary functions of design to run the tool.

imserv@imsrv.com Guest

Karen, you can use the DXF output from Autocad 2000 with Vector 9.3, it supports most DXF entities including text and annotation, and dimensioning. For prior versions of Vector, you will need to export the Autocad files as an earlier version of Autocad. Version 12 is the least likely to be a problem, but you will be able to use V13 or V14 too, depending on the kind of entities that you use in your drawing. The exporting of older versions of DXF from Autocad 2000 will automatically explode complex entity types that were added in later versions of DXF files, into simpler entity types such as ellipses and splines, into poly lines and arcs.

Karen, let's simplify what Fred said - methinks he may be frightening you off

- You need to be able to make .dxf files
    - You can use Coreldraw or AutoCad 2000 to make .dxf files (I use AutoCad 2000, but have no experience of Coreldraw)
    - Once you have a .dxf file, you need to convert it to the ShopBot language (.sbp file)