Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Solidworks?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Splawn Amplification, Dallas NC
    Posts
    57

    Default Solidworks?

    has anyone tried this program or will it even translate with the shopbot?.....newbie here

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Community Loudspeakers, Chester PA
    Posts
    63

    Default

    Solidworks is a CAD program only. It does not do the CAM part. I make models in Solidworks all the time and then use several other CAM softwares to create tool paths.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Splawn Amplification, Dallas NC
    Posts
    57

    Default

    Yeah... Thats what I figured. Like I said I am new to CAM myself. I had taken it in college but mainly had just focused on CAD. I have been drawing my files in CAD simply because I am more familiar with in than PW... Therefore its faster at programing. I have been taking the .dwg files and importing them into PW to program the tool paths... and like I said... Im new here so Im open to ideas.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Grahamsville NY
    Posts
    68

    Default

    I used solidworks for years it is a great design program the way you are doing it now is the way I do to though I convert the drawings to DXF.
    I currently use Alibre and illustrator for design and rams gold for my CAM.
    Part wizard is pretty limited if you do 3D or a lot of V carve design.

    Vectric looks like they have some really nice CAM packages if I didn't already have RAMS I would probably go with them.

    Everybody has there preferences, since you have cad experience the CAM end is real easy to get going on.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    8

    Default

    I have a good experience in using of this softwere.The man said correct That It is the Computer Aided Desighn Programe use to draw the programes in Digitel sence...can you please share some your art work ..I think you should share to see what experience you are..

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Troy, OHIO
    Posts
    87

    Default

    I have been using SolidWorks at my main job for about 10 years. It is a great 3D tool. I also use it to generate designs that I export to dxf and to run 2D tool paths on in Aspire. Has anyone figured out how to quickly connect the lines from the dxf to generate the vectors in Aspire?
    Phil
    BT 32 Standard
    2.2 HP Spindle
    Aspire Sofrware

Similar Threads

  1. Help with SolidWorks
    By wardsa in forum ShopBotter Message Board
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-14-2015, 09:04 PM
  2. solidworks stl issue? could use help.
    By shaun in forum Solidworks
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 04-01-2012, 06:00 PM
  3. So to clarify about solidworks....
    By nodnerb in forum Solidworks
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 04-04-2011, 09:55 PM
  4. Yes - SolidWorks!
    By chris_booth in forum Solidworks
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-24-2008, 04:54 AM
  5. SolidWorks
    By jthelen in forum Archives2004
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-26-2004, 10:08 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •