Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Editing red lined art

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Minneapolis
    Posts
    21

    Default Editing red lined art

    I am in desperate need of some help. I am cutting a very complex piece for a client. They supplied the artwork to me as an Illustrator file which I converted and imported into Partwizard. When I try to make the cutting paths, I get a message about lines crossing. When I group the art to find the problem, I get some lines that are red with little circles. I can not find any reference for what these mean and how to deal with them here. If anyone can point me in the right direction, I would appreciate it!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Valcourt, Québec, Canada
    Posts
    1,887

    Default

    The reds have a problem. Go into node edit mode and zoom in.

    Without seeing the file (or a sample), I (we) cannot help much more...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Minneapolis
    Posts
    21

    Default

    With the help of a fellow ShopBotter, I was able to get things running.

    However, I would still like to know if there is a node editing tutorial out there so I can figure out this stuff on my own.

    Thanks!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    DeskMarks, Brighton MI
    Posts
    42

    Default

    SB has a video training CD called: Part Wizard/Insignia -E Training Series. It does have a section on node editing. It cost about $200.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    , CA
    Posts
    440

    Default

    I've had red lines which, in my case, meant there was a duplication of the same vectors. so I ungrouped then deleted one set. Then grouped the vector again even if it's a single line. If it turns red you can zoom in and find the small loop or crisscross that is the foul-up. I draw a circle around the area, use the sizers to remove it then connect the vectors back where they belong.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Lenox High School, Lenox MA
    Posts
    944

    Default

    Node editing is similar in just about all vector based programs. I Googled "node editing tutorial" and found many links. This is just one http://graphicssoft.about.com/od/glo...ss/nodes_6.htm

Similar Threads

  1. Editing the Z-Zero command
    By phil_o in forum ShopBotter Message Board
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 11-04-2012, 01:38 AM
  2. Let's Get It Lined Up!
    By pappybaynes in forum Troubleshooting
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 04-03-2012, 09:52 PM
  3. Editing File
    By kubotaman in forum ShopBotter Message Board
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-28-2011, 12:40 PM
  4. 3d editing
    By jseiler in forum Archives2008
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-23-2008, 12:01 PM
  5. Editing toolpaths
    By jsfrost in forum Archives 2005
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-04-2005, 12:19 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •