Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: BobCad to ShopBot

Default BobCad to ShopBot

Newbie here... my 4848 to be delivered this Friday. Have currently been using V22 BobCad's G-code to my "home-built" CNC and would like to continue using it until I can afford "new". Can anyone assist me with translating the G-code to a ShopBot format? The forums mention a converter/translator but I'm missing the name and where to aquire.

Thanks,
    Bill

Once you load the ShopBot control software you will find a G-code converter at:

C:\Program Files\ShopBot\ShopBot 3\Bin\UX_GCODE.exe

Hey Bill,

The ShopBot software will natively run G-Code files...here's a list of the supported commands.

http://shopbotwiki.com/index.php?title=GCodeMain

Just to make sure, you can download the Control software and try your files in Preview mode...you'll get an error if one of the commands isn't supported.

Bill

Great! :-) Thanks guys. I have read both good and bad about the BobCad post processor for ShopBot, if functional at all. Any comments on using that or some another post processor?

Have read some ill reviews of BobCad but... like to create a skin all you need to do is cursor point, left click, right click, left click, one more left click, right click, left click three more times, face east, point west, hold your left foot 3" from the floor, whisper "I hope this works this time!" while pressing the ENTER key. It's that easy! Honest.

Once again... Thanks!
    Bill

Bill,

I have written negative reviews of Bobcad based on my experience with V19. Newer versions may be better or not. I am evaluating V22 and have not yet reached a personal conclusion. It is, at least, very different from V19.

The Bobcad support person I reached did not know of a V22 Shopbot post. Drop me an email if you have one or know which of the available posts prooduce files Shopbot will machine.

Jim,