Thread: Is shopbot the way to go?

Default Is shopbot the way to go?

I have no cnc experience and have been looking around at new and used machines. One that has caught my eye is the Vortech but I am concerned about support. I do custom cabinetry and custom wood mouldings ie arches etc. Would the shopbot keep me happy for this kind of work. Mainly I am hoping to be able to process cabinet panels 5/8-3/4 mel and punch the system holes. I like the thought of being able to come to this forum for help which is a huge + for ShopBot.
    thank you

Lorin
    I had lots of computer background, but no cnc or cad experience. Took a few attempts but the ShopBot and software was very easy to learn and use. I now build cabinets, furniture and items that require very accurate cuts. The ShopBot will work very well, and this forum is great. You will always know someone on here can and will help you. I have taken on projects that I never would have thought of, because of the information and help on this forum.
    Butch

Lorin

Less than 2 years ago I had 20+ years custom Cabinetry/Millwork experience,
    0-years CNC experience.

With my Shopbot, My buisness has expanded.
    I used to dread curved work including curved moulding.(draw arch/set up router jig/cut template/sand-sand -sand template-still have
    flat spots...)
    Now I draw any shape- bring it to my "Bot" and cut a perfect template/arch...or cabinet.
    Now I'm also making carved signs that people think took me hours to do.
    One thing,I couldn't have gotten to this point without this forum and without ShopBot support.
    Go with Shopbot-you won't be sorry.

Erminio

Lorin,