Thread: MDF is absorbing all my epoxy...

Default MDF is absorbing all my epoxy...

Hey Guys, I'm trying to weather proof some MDF letters with Epoxy, but the MDF just soaks it up. Is this ok?
    Thanks!

Daniel,

Yes.

I use two coats. Then prime and paint as usual.

DO NOT interupt the surface from there. No screws or nails or it's all for nothing.

Extira is a much better product for exterior letters. Flat out better in almost every way.

Regardless, good luck with your project.

Joe
    www.normansignco.com/workshop.htm

Thanks for the info Joe!
    I checked out your site...Something caught my eye and gave me a good laugh..

Dr. Crumley's Rootin Tootin Snake Oil Mask

Thats funny! I probably could use a bottle or two myself....
    Thanks for the info!

Hi
    Im new in signs works, i will like to know the processes, materials and equipment to give my works very good finishing/spraying
    thanks
    Tokunbo

The Custom Sign Shop / Custom Creations, Flemington NJ

We apply two coats of Shellac prior to applying the 2 coats of epoxy, then prime and paint.

Works well, drys fast and is affordable. We use trupan, never had any issues to date providing you follow this process..

If you use any fastners, etc.. just use the same steps once your completed and you will be fine.

Jim,

I'm proud of you. I've been preaching this technique for years. Your the first who's adopted this technique. However, with MDF, one coat is better because this material is very moisutre sensative. Two coats of shellac prevents the epoxy from getting as good a hold. But any way good to see another Shellac head.

Joe
    www.normansignco./workshop.htm

Thanks Joe, I'm in the shop late tonight cutting out beer mugs, fun....

I thought others were doing it also, or some variation of this process, but I appreciate the recognition.

Anyway, I must confess, I pretty much spray everything using an HVLP gun. Thus I figured 2 coats would work because of the saturation I was getting...