Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Porter Cable Router brushes out after 3 months??

Default Porter Cable Router brushes out after 3 months??

I've been using my shopbot with a porter cable router for under 3 months now.

I've been noticing more sparks than normal and it looks like my brushes are shot.

I run it about 1 hour a day about 4 days a week or less. I'm cutting 3/4 particle board with a 1/4" bit. I'm doing 3 passes at 1.7-2.3 i.p.s.

Does this sound normal? I didn't think I was running it alot so I figured they would last much longer than this.

I'm not sure if I should take it my service center or jsut by new brushes?

-Mike

BTW: Anyone recommend somewhere to by them from?

I have been running my alot more then you and it is about 2 years old and no problems yet . What RPM are you running it ?.
    I cutt all of my stuff from 10000 - 16000 RPM and mostly at about 7"ips .
    So yes they should last a lot longer.

Usually 16,000 RPM.

I'm almost thinking of just replacing them myself, as I can't afford much down time (if I took it to a service center).

I just wonder if there's a bigger problem and they might wear out again.

You should have it checked and/or replaced. I have many and have had many PC routers.

I purchased a new one a little over a year ago and it began to spark as you describe after several months of use... then BAM thwwpppttttatatatabangbanggrind.... it shot fire spewed plastic parts and gave up the ghost. I never learned what was really wrong with it but it was in warranty and I got a new router. Took about 2 weeks for the swap. I expected the worst but no one asked me any questions, just replaced it.

Robert