Thread: Does anyone use Bobcad?

DanHofer@Comcast.net Guest

Default Does anyone use Bobcad?

If any of you have read my previous posts, you know that I'm a beginner to CNC. I have many questions. The biggest mystery for me now exists as the magic that occurs between design work and the machine cutting my design.

I know I can design a part using a product like Autocad or BobCad. I know the end result of this is G code acted upon by the machine controllers. I also know that my rendering of a part does not factor in the cut a tool will make. I think there is software used between the CAD software and the machine that is used to create tool paths and G code.

I've been looking at a product called BobCad. It appears to be targeted at CNC type of operations. (As compared to Autocad which is targeted at a much wider audience: architects, civil, mechanical, electrical engineers, etc.). Does anyone use BobCad? If so, do you have any good or bad feedback regarding it's use with Shopbot?

Also can someone detail for me in simple terms the steps they perform to go from design to cutting and what products they use for those steps?

Example:

Design: Autocad
    Toolpath: Acme
    G code: Acme etc.

Any input would be greatly appreciated.

Best Regards,

Dan Hofer
    DanHofer@Comcast.net

rgbrown@itexas.net Guest

Dan,

ShopBot has a DXF to SBP converter as part of the aoftware package. They also supply "Part Wizzaed" that does 2D and "2 1/2D" toolpaths - I am told.

I have been using VECTOR and like it. Others use many kinds of design/toolpath software.

I like RHINO for a CAD package. I haven't found the part I can't cut with a combination of RHINO/VECTOR. At times I do have to get creative.

Ron

I use Bobcad and for the most part I like it. It lacks a lot of the whiz bang features many other packages have but the fact is that they tend to confuse and slow me down rather than help.