Thread: Cutting Speed, Charging for Machine time

Default Cutting Speed, Charging for Machine time

I have a PRT with the slower board. I have an opportunity to develop a working relationship with a local company cutting some parts, mostly basic parts out of 3/4 sheet goods. Some birch ply and lots of MDF.

I am wanting to upgrade to the faster control board soon but cannot spring for it just now.

Here is the question, How fast can you consistantly cut the above materials with the faster board.

I think I will bid these parts based on the machining time in Aspire. But I know that if I base it on the slow cutting speeds that I am doing now it will probably be too high. I don't mind eating the difference until I can get the new board.

I am a newbie so if I am going at this all wrong please point me in the right direction.

Also what kind of hour rate do you put on your machine time.

Thanks
    Blake

Hi Blake. I charge fairly low in my opinion..

$100 hr for design and $100 hr for machine time + hourly for the guys working in the shop +30%

I would do some test runs to see the amount of time required then go from there.

Blake,

I have had a few opportunities to cut various parts from sheet goods (same as you..birch and mdf). Most of the cutting was for a cabinet company.

I just charged by the sheet...this was not a full time thing and I had a pretty good idea as to what was being cut so I knew (on average) how much time it would take to do the drawings / toolpaths, load up the material, cut the sheet, minor touch-ups if needed etc.

Some sheets were for larger components 5-6 per sheet and others had maybe 20 components. I use a PRT like you (no upgrade yet...just a router too). I pretty much just figured for a $15 sheet of mdf I'll cut what you want for $150 (example only..you need to decide what works for you).