Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Gel Coat

Default Gel Coat

Greeting,

Does anyone know anything about Gel Coat?

I'm amazed how difficult it's been to find the products locally and find information on how it works.

I'm considering it to coat HDU, and EPS Foam.

Here's what I think I know? It's much like automotive enamel except it can be built up very thick, dry's fast, and is hard.

Thanks for the help.

Joe,

This looks like a pretty good start point:

http://www.evercoat.com/imgs/pis/GELCOAT.pdf

Tim

Joe, What is the question on gel coat? In a previous life I had a fiberglass fabrication business.
    Bryson

Hi Joe,
    Gel coat is hard, brittle and not very strong until backed up by something like fiberglas.
    I used to get baked spraying the stuff into half molds of gillnet boats back in the 70's.
    Chopper guns were fun to use.

Sunlight is not its friend.

I've had some experience making faux rock. During this training I learned fiberglas and gel coating products are outlawed in many areas. Often requiring licensing to use the product legally. Facilities that satisfy a governmental agency are required and if any complaints are received your biz is road kill.
    Where I live, price limits its use.

I guess the long and short of it is .... I learned to use as far cheaper product to accomplish the same results as fiberglass. Which was portland, moose milk, and lots of fiber.

I suppose you are thinking about fiberglas signs or some such but maybe this is a good time to bring up vacuum forming?

A former business partner of mine owned a vacuum forming company. They built all kinds of stuff but especially those push Mocha dispensers common at many gas stations. ABS plastic was the product of choice.

The used their own 3 axis CNC mill to make a built up mold from wood and used the same mill to mill off the flashing.
    The mold had tiny holes drilled through it and bottom of the mold was not unlike a plenum.