Thread: Problem cutting 1 inch poplar

Default Problem cutting 1 inch poplar

Hi, folks.

I am trying to get into production on a job with a lot of small parts made from 1 inch thick poplar. We have used the wood a lot, and even with its particular fondness for fuzz, we (normally) achieve very good results with it.

This particular job has me using 1/8 inch bits
    http://www1.mscdirect.com/CGI/GSDRVS...00000066531385 and I am having a lot of difficulty achieving any kind of finish that even resembles acceptable (including a little fuzz) I have seen much smoother cuts from a coping saw.

.125 inch bit at 10k - 13k rpm at 1.2 - 1.7 ips, both climb and conventional. The cuts are ramped and I have tried little bites (.125 steps) and bigger ones. The bit handles the cut without any sign of bogging, it is producing chips, not dust, and the cuts are within a few thousands (raggedness excluded).

This is my first time to cut poplar with such a small bit. I don't normally have this issue. Any ideas on what I am missing? I don't mind being stupid on this one, I just need to get it fixed so I can get the work done.

I thought about a full plunge cleanup pass with a negative offset of a couple thousands at a slow ips (the cutting surface of the bit is over 1 inch).

It may simply be that the bit is not a good match for the job, but finding .125 inch bits long enough has been a bear already.

I need a really good fit on this part straight off the bot as it needs to immediately go into a template in a laser for some detail etching before cleanup and sanding.

I am obviously missing something simple. Please help if you have any suggestions. This is the first time I have had problems achieving a good finish with the bot, but I haven't used it much in the last 2 years due to other business concerns, so I am not a newbie, but definitely currently a rusty.

Machine is a PRTAlpha

Thanks,
    David

LM Custom Woodcrafts, Cortlandt Manor New York