Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Probe Compatibility

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    84

    Default Probe Compatibility

    I hate to admit it, but I was once a Compucarve / Carvewright owner and I just ordered my Bot. Please don't hold that against me
    . I bought a Carvewright probe and still have it. Can I use this probe with the Bot with a 4HP spindle? Would it work as well as the ShopBot probe?

    http://www.carvewright.com/cms/probe

    http://store.carvewright.com//produc...roductid=16134

    Regards,
    Rick

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    iBILD Solutions - Southern NJ
    Posts
    7,926

    Default

    Most likely, yes. You will have to determine 2 things.

    1) Is it a normally open or a normally closed switch?
    2) Does it require external power to operate?

    Use a test meter on the continuity setting to determine NO or NC. If you cannot get continuity, it may require power to work - which means either taking it apart or contacting the manufacturer to find out what voltage is required.

    -B

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    84

    Default

    Brady, if I understand your answer, if the probe is Normally Closed, then it will work with the Bot? Is that correct?

    Regards,
    Rick

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    iBILD Solutions - Southern NJ
    Posts
    7,926

    Default

    Yes, that is correct.

    -B

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    84

    Default

    Here is the answer I received. That said, would this work with the ShopBot? If not, could I customize it to work?

    The probe is a simple mechanical SPST normally closed switch. When nothing is touching the tip, the switch has continuity and it breaks when the tip is pushed up or sideways. It does not use any power, it only makes or breaks the circuit.

    Regards,
    Rick

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    iBILD Solutions - Southern NJ
    Posts
    7,926

    Default

    You'll take one wire and hook it to the input 1 terminal, and take the other wire and hook it to ground. You should see input 1 light up when nothing is touching the probe & go off when you trigger it. If this does not work, reverse the wires. The input 1 wire is shared with the Zzero plate wire by means of a Wago connector on the machine. Follow the instructions for wiring in your manual, except for when it describes hooking up to voltage. There's not much more to it than that, except the following safety advice:

    1) NEVER turn on the spindle/router when the probe is in the collet. Sounds obvious...others have acutally done this.

    2) NEVER use the Zzero plate to zero out the probe. The Zzero plate shares the same circuit as the probe & doing so will smash/crush the probe.

    3) Tape the shaft of the spindle/router to it's body to prevent incidental spinning while probing.

    -B

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Marquette, MI
    Posts
    3,375

    Default

    Brady...
    How will the probing software interpret the normally closed versus normally open configuration? Will the "1's" have to be changed to zeros?
    Gary

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Willis Wharf, VA
    Posts
    1,638

    Default

    If you use the Copy Machine Virtual Tool to set up your probing, you can choose between normally open or normally closed and it will write the correct input switch settings.

    Bill

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    84

    Default

    Thanks for the feedback. I'll take a look at this when I get my machine in a few weeks or so.

    Regards,
    Rick

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    iBILD Solutions - Southern NJ
    Posts
    7,926

    Default

    Gary,
    The SB Probe is normally closed, so the default SB config (as if you bought a SB probe) would work...but as Bill points out, you can also use a NO probe and still take advantage of the probing routines.

    -B

Similar Threads

  1. Two quick programming/compatibility questions
    By aarn in forum ShopBotter Message Board
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 01-16-2015, 02:32 PM
  2. Compatibility mode for Win98/SB2.38
    By artbot in forum ShopBotter Message Board
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-11-2014, 05:58 PM
  3. opinions, board switch compatibility (pics)
    By artbot in forum ShopBotter Message Board
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-16-2010, 01:13 PM
  4. New probe out soon
    By bahed in forum Archives2006
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-18-2006, 08:53 AM
  5. Probe
    By waltie in forum Archives2005
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-17-2005, 10:38 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •