Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: The Great ShopBot Samadhi Experiment

Default The Great ShopBot Samadhi Experiment

This is a personal project that I have wanted to do for about 10 years now. Thanks to the Bot, lots and lots of research and many nights after work I've got it up and running. I've been using it now for about 2 months. For those that have absolutely no idea what this is, just Google "Samadhi Tank" and do some reading.

It's not often that I display my 'metaphysical side' in the public eye, but the benefits of a floation tank are so numerous, that the greater part of me felt the need to share this with the group. I'm formally trained in the healing arts (Reiki & Integrated Energy Therapy - IET Master Instructor) any other areas for personal development. I always aspired to build one of these things if I only had the time & means...well here we go!

The basic tank portion consists of a sheet of 3/4" RTG sitting on 2X4 treated studs. Side walls are 1.375 thick MDO fastened to each other and the base sheet via 2" X 1/8" AL angle and Kreg panhead screws. Inside the tank it is insulated with Reflectix double bubble foil insulation. Two Low or Zero EMF waterbed heaters were installed and the thermostats tucked under the insulation. The outside of the tank was painted navy blue (some say ShopBot blue)

24734.jpg

Then a Firestone HDPM fish-safe (no outgassing in water) was fitted to the inside of the tank. It is retained by staples along the top edge of the 1.375" MDO and then capped off with AL angle.

24735.jpg

Then the top sides were cut using a 1/4" downcut 4-flute cutter out of 10mm coroplast. Panels are notched at the bottom to sit on the AL 'ring' that caps off the liner. Stainless screws and hardware was used to fasten the sides to the bottom MDO ring of the tank. Finished tank size overall is about 4 X 8 X 4 feet. I'm glad I made it that big...

24736.jpg