Let's Talk ShopBot  

Go Back   Let's Talk ShopBot > Applications and Techniques > Designing and Creating the sbp cutting file > Solidworks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 04-01-2012, 01:42 PM
Shaun shaun is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: NY
Posts: 20
Default

Brady,
I think you nailed it again. My step over was .625 instead of .0625. I did not conciously set it. I need to learn each of these functions better. I have probably never used that bit before and I obviously do not know what I am doing yet. I have been using the default settings on the bits. I will try cutting it again and see what happens but I think this should fix it. It was a roughing pass.
The finished part is exactly how I did it. Nice to know I somewhat think properly
It is a practice piece to see how difficult it would be to import files from Solidworks before I try something more difficult.
Thanks so much for the help.
Shaun
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-01-2012, 05:00 PM
bradywatson's Avatar
Brady Watson bradywatson is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: iBILD Solutions - Southern NJ
Posts: 6,357
Default

No problem - Glad you got it sorted out. Keep practicing...you'll be humming right along in no time. It takes a while to learn how to 'think in CNC', and discern between what is a 3D part and what can be created with 2D strategies. If it can be done via 2D, then do it - it is always faster.

-B
__________________
High Definition 3D Laser Scanning Services - Advanced ShopBot CNC Training and Consultation - IBILD.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2012 ShopBot® Tools, Inc.