Let's Talk ShopBot  

Go Back   Let's Talk ShopBot > ShopBot Specific > ShopBot Accessories

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-14-2012, 01:08 AM
knight_toolworks's Avatar
steve knight knight_toolworks is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: cnc routing, portland or
Posts: 2,970
Default anyone interested in this?

if you have a prt or older it is a hassle squaring the z.
I am making is a simple upside down t that screws to the z uses two bolts in each end as leveling screws. one on each size of the z.
Several people have made these and I made one out of aluminum that has to much flex but hey it was easy. The video below shows mine a bit (forgot to take a picture of course taxes dulled my brain) I am having these part cut at my local waterjet place. the two bottom pieces are welded together to make a angle iron piece so it will not flex the two holes with be threaded for the bolts. then the top piece is welded and the small piece connects the horizontal to vertical. You just have to drill and twp two holes in the z on each side. it is cut from 1/8" steel I was going to do 1/4" but that seemed overkill and doubled the cost of getting it cut.



Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-14-2012, 07:23 AM
bradywatson's Avatar
Brady Watson bradywatson is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: iBILD Solutions - Southern NJ
Posts: 6,277
Default

Is it necessary? I haven't needed to adjust my Z axis in years...and I push the tool pretty hard with a big 5hp Colombo. You might only need to torque the Z axis hardware down a little tighter than you have it.

Also...on the 4G PRT gantry with AL extrusions, you *must* loosen up the top side hardware on the 2 AL extrusions that sandwich the Z axis before you tighten the 1/2" hardware that holds the Z axis in place. There should be NO gaps between the extrusions and the Z tower.

-B
__________________
High Definition 3D Laser Scanning Services - Advanced ShopBot CNC Training and Consultation - IBILD.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-14-2012, 11:15 AM
knight_toolworks's Avatar
steve knight knight_toolworks is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: cnc routing, portland or
Posts: 2,970
Default

yes a couple times a year it seems. maybe it is running into things that causes it (G) but it is night to get it dialed it with less effort. I had a hell of a time getting mine accurate when I first started. the x adjustment is easy but the y is pretty hard.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2012 ShopBot® Tools, Inc.