PDA

View Full Version : ShopBot Programming Language ?s



Andrew Porter
04-14-2010, 04:09 PM
Hi, first time poster here. I'm not sure if I posting in the right place, but I have some questions about the shopbot programming language. I'm taking an introductory CNC course. I would like to cut a radiused dishes for making guitars. I want to do this by cutting a 12" radius channel several thousandths deep and then progressively smaller circles ending with a depth of 0.3"-0.5" thus defining a portion of a 20+ft sphere. I'd like to write a flexable program that would ask the user for the dish radius and sphere radius. It would need to calculate square roots. While I could write a routine to do this I thought there might be one in the language (though I did see one mentioned in the comref.pdf).

Another question concerning circles. When I generate shopbot code for a circle channel cut using Parts Works, I notice that there are 4 CG commands which each cut a quarter circle:

M3,3.526833,15.308437,-0.010000
CG, ,15.526833,3.308437,12.000000,0.000000,T,-1
CG, ,27.526833,15.308437,0.000000,12.000000,T,-1
CG, ,15.526833,27.308437,-12.000000,0.000000,T,-1
CG, ,3.526833,15.308437,0.000000,-12.000000,T,-1

Is there a particular reason for this? The comref.pdf seems to indicate that the CC or CG command could be used for a full circle. Is the somewhere that discusses the circle command syntax a little futher in depth?

Thanks for any help

Gary Campbell
04-14-2010, 05:12 PM
Andrew...
Along with the command reference, look at the programming handbook and the calculated functions PDF's. All in the program files\shopbot\shopbot3\help folder.

rcnewcomb
04-14-2010, 05:52 PM
It created 4 CG commands because the circle in the design had 4 nodes:
http://www.222artisans.com/images/Circle4nodesSmall.JPG

Andrew Porter
04-15-2010, 09:15 AM
Thanks for the responses

Gary - Am I right in assuming the folder you reference would be on the ShopBot Control PC?

Randall - Can a circle have a singe node and single circle command?

Anyone know about a square root command?

rcnewcomb
04-15-2010, 10:50 AM
Can a circle have a singe node and single circle command?
I can draw a circle with 2 nodes. When I toolpath that it generates two CG commands. (I believe the CAD program needs two nodes to know the diameter of the circle.)

I believe the CC, CG, and CP commands can each cut a full circle.

From a CAD/CAM standpoint it is easiest to program toolpaths between nodes -- hence the four arcs for the four nodes, or two arcs for two nodes.

bill.young
04-15-2010, 11:32 AM
Andrew,

If you're looking for an example of the sqr function and a sample program to cut dished surfaces, look in the "c:\sbparts" folder and check out the "sample_DishDome.sbp" file...it should get you started. As Gary says, you can find all the reference docs in your "C:\Program files\ShopBot\ShopBot 3\help" folder after you install the ShopBot software. The "Calculated_Functions.pdf" file gives you info on the sqr function and all the others like that.

Just as an aside, I'd probably use the CP command if I was writing your program, which define the circle by the center point and radius. All you would really need to to calculate is the diameter and depth for each pass.

Andrew Porter
04-19-2010, 05:32 PM
Tried the CP command, worked like a charm. Will check out the SQR function tomorrow night.