View Full Version : Cabinet doors

john_hartman
05-09-2010, 05:08 PM
I'm thinking about out sourcing a batch of raised panel doors. I have never done this but fortunately the economy in my area seems to have taken a major up turn; which has lead to more work than I can handle. I'm trying to speed up the turn around time without having to tell prospects that I'm more than 3 months out...

I have Walzcraft's profile/pricing catalog and the total's I'm coming up with seem pretty high for what I consider to be a simple door to make. My question to everyone that is outsourcing doors is: what company are you using? How is the quality as far as grain matching and warping? And what, if any, are the pit falls to outsourcing doors and drawers?

wberminio
05-09-2010, 07:32 PM
John

I have been outsourcing cabinet doors/drawers for 15 years+

Waltzcraft has been my principle supplier.They have excellent customer service.
The few times I have received a damaged and/or warped door it was immediately replaced.They arrive ready to finish.
I have found that outsourcing seems to cost more than fabricating in-house,
but,consider the time to sort material, setup,cutting,sanding,cost of endless tooling necessary to supply various profiles-it may be more cost effective to
make a call with your sizes/styles/profiles and a few weeks later open your packages-door/drawer ready to finish and install.
Let me know if you need more info.

Erminio

Erminio

thewoodcrafter
05-09-2010, 08:20 PM
I have always outsourced my doors.
I think Decorative Specialties has a plant in the mid-west.
Seven days for cope and stick doors and about 10 days for mitered.

Some doors can be very expensive. But I pay about $8/ft2 for oak flat panel and about $10.50/ft2 for cope and stick raised panel.
If you order "select" the color match is pretty good.

I would not consider making my own doors when I can pickup the phone and have them delivered and ready to finish in a week.

dlcw
05-09-2010, 10:07 PM
John,