PDA

View Full Version : Is this how it's done?

Dranos
06-02-2010, 07:41 PM
I have a project involving letters cut from 1/2" thick PVC. The letters are 12" tall and need to be installed with a 1/2" space from the wall. Here is the procedure I have planned, please correct me or suggest a better way if I'm wrong.

Set up letters mirrored (flipped) in illustrator.
Load into part works and set points for drilling holes that the studs will screw into.
Set the cut path then send to Shopbot.
Have the machine drill first then change the bit and allow it to cut the letters out.

Well that's my plan. Is that how letters are done? I've never done this before so I only have a theory.

Any advice is appreciated.

Big-Tex
06-03-2010, 12:19 AM
Here is what I can suggest.
I would cut letters right side up with o-flute bit.
Than with same file just down spiral and drill bit I would cut say 1/4" mesonite for template. Use template for drilling holes for studs into letters and wall as wall.

This will give you same stud layout or at least pretty close.

I am sure others have other suggestions, just be open to ideas, life is one learning curve.

bleeth
06-03-2010, 06:10 AM
I would cut the letters the right way, make the template, and use the template as a guide to glue the pegs to the PVC. You didn't mention what material you want to make the pegs in but just about whatever it is there is a good epoxy that will do the job.
Check out how the professional letter companies like Gemini do stand-offs.

robtown
06-03-2010, 06:52 AM
Do it how you plan. Use an 1/8" bit to drill stud holes, then cut out. I have a plotter so I can use the same file used for cutting to make a paper pattern.

For the studs I use aluminum studs from McMaster Carr, I think it's either 8-32 or 6-32, but they fit nicely in the 1/8" holes with a small dollup of epoxy for holding power. I use the alum studs because I can clip them easily if they are too long. you can also buy spacers from mcmaster...

Dranos