PDA

View Full Version : To shopbot or not

kevin
07-26-2010, 11:12 AM
In design when adding feature when is to much to much?

I ask the client to seal the sale they could pick out a carving .What they pick out was **** .

I think leaving a alone is enough ?
Thoughts?

Brady Watson
07-26-2010, 11:44 AM
Make sure they physically sign off on the design, which should include photos and drawings - they get a copy, you get a copy. Parts is parts. Ugly or not - if they want it - you make it. If they can afford what you design instead, and they like it, then go with that. Otherwise, omit this from your portfolio.

-B

john_l
07-26-2010, 08:59 PM
Kevin, In my opinion, it may depend on what the carving is? Depth? Finish planned contrast level? the Room decor, etc etc.

I'm no artist and I may be considered a very foolish business person but I have told many, many customers that I would NOT build what they request if I found that, in my opinion, it wouldn't look good, be functional, be practical, etc.

I always listen to them first. I try to be polite in explanations. I try to convey my concern for a good project outcome. I even try to make it look like it's their idea if I need to. But there are paths I wont travel down.

Gary Campbell
07-26-2010, 11:06 PM
Kevin...
Since I have been down this road a few times and gone both ways...

I now listen to the words of a wise man, my Son. "Ol' Man, you either get to make what you want..... or money!"

jsooter
07-27-2010, 12:22 AM
That is an awesome mantel!

kevin
07-28-2010, 06:37 PM
Thank you for the compliment, Jason. Here is my question: Does the mantle need a carving or is it just fine? But regardless, if client wants it, I will add it. I just want a different perspective on the design.
Kevin

myxpykalix
07-28-2010, 07:05 PM
Kevin,