PDA

View Full Version : Sheets of Wood???.

shawnn82
09-06-2010, 07:53 PM
I needed some help. I am only a CNC hobbyist (dont own a CNC business) and I have made several projects since i got a CNC in 2008. I did'nt really want to venture out into cutting expensive wood sheets until i knew what i was doing. I have only used 24" x 36" pine sheets they sell at your local home centers. My experience with making signs of pine has been some good and some bad but i believe its now time to step up the quality ladder.

I have absolutely no wood working experience prior to the CNC and am finding it difficult to find anywhere sheets of domestic wood in the 24" x 36" size range since i have a shop bot buddy. My first question is, is wood like cherry, maple, oak, cedar, walnut available in that size range? If so where and how can i get it? - I live in Orlando, FLorida
If not, how do i go about gluing up boards of cherry to make the 24" x 32" size. Not all my work is that big, but i am sitting on a request to make a sign that big.

What would be a good speicies of wood to start of with?
I would appreciate all the help i could use as an amateur.

dana_swift
09-06-2010, 10:10 PM
Usually you build up wood if you need a lot of width. 24" natural wood is very expensive when you can find it, which isn't often. It also tends to warp badly, so make your own and stop the warping at the same time.

Look up breadboards, and making large glue-ups for table tops etc. I find doing that a very enjoyable part of the building process. There are lots of sites with info on the process.

I use the bot to surface the result of the gluing on both top and bottom sides, then I do any cutting the project calls for. Sanding with a thickness sander or jitterbug removes the tool marks and gets it ready to finish.