PDA

View Full Version : Conductive Paint or Tape on the Edges??

rustnrot
02-09-2005, 08:51 PM
I am getting ready to find the edges of several boat planks to cut on the ShopBot. I thought finding conductive paint for the edges would be cheap and easy to find. It is $10 a gram or so! So has anyone used marine bottom paint (they say "60% copper") or something like that. How low must the resistance be for the probe to work? If in low ohms looks like will probably have to use tape?

davidallen
02-09-2005, 09:11 PM
you can find copper tape with adhesive backing or metal tape for A/C ducts that work well. you'll need to figure an offset due to tape thickness but that's fairly constant.

richards
02-09-2005, 09:17 PM
Tom,

I'm no expert on paint or on conductivity; but, I've designed and built enough computer circuit boards to worry about using anything that is not completely reliable.

In my opinion, conductive paint can/will cause problems. Every time the cutter touches the paint, some/most of the paint 'might' be fractured to the point that it breaks the circuit.

Tape 'may' be a better solution. I would think that it could withstand the pressure of the cutter touching it better than paint; however, if it were to be cut, conductivity would be lost.

Would it be possible to 'jig up' some aluminum or other metal in some way that the jig could be placed on the corner of the plank and a xy-zeroing routine run, compensating for the thickness of the metal?

Perhaps this is just being over cautious, but, I've spent hundreds of hours over the years tracing down a 'fractured' circuit.

-Mike

billp
02-09-2005, 09:31 PM
Tom,