PDA

View Full Version : Shop bot buddy hold down

cowboy1296
01-12-2011, 02:11 AM
After several weeks of trial and error, lots of errors, i seem to have mastered the hold down. However i must admit i copied some one else's plan. My buddy is a prs 32 with a 4 ft power stick. I cut 5-2 foot long slots into the sacrifice board, inserted t-tracks in each and utilized 7 clamp hold downs . I have just ordered 2 more clamp hold downs which might be an over kill but nothing is worse then a project slipping during cutting. 4 clamp downs are slide into the power stick t-tracks, two on each end of the table and surprisingly enough it seems to work. Had i not already built my power stick table i would have again copied some one elses plan and made mine longer. I am still a rookie and so many others on here know best but if you want to see a picture of my hold downs just ask.

dana_swift
01-12-2011, 09:13 AM
Rick- just presume we would like to see a picture and post them.

We all get ideas from each other. I have put many ideas on here for hold down from my BT-32 experiences. Search on my name, you will find lists of them. Since then I have added a few more also. :)

"Overkill" on holddown? There is no such thing, there is "underkill" that is when the project shifts and gets ruined. Or worse decides to see how fast it can go from the shopbot to the wall. Shopbots rarely throw things, but always CAN. Beware.. overkill is another word for safe holddown.

D

cowboy1296
01-12-2011, 10:07 AM