View Full Version : Engraving marble

steve_g
03-08-2011, 12:45 PM
This is my first attempt at engraving marble and I can’t say that I’m pleased. The first try was .040 deep at speeds ranging from 2ips to .5ips. Second try was .020 deep at .25ips. I used a 60° V-bit that was too dull for any other purpose. The marble was picked up at a local flooring store.

I’m curious what others are using for bits and speed and if my experience is typical. The samples shown are 6X6. The fracturing around the engraving reminds me of chip carved arrow heads, not the look I was after!

Steve

billp
03-08-2011, 02:07 PM
Steve,
I've never done cuts that shallow in marble, so I'm gonna have to guess at this one; I'm wondering if the depth isn't TOO shallow, so that you are really dealing with both the polished face, and the underlying stone at about a 50/50 depth ratio (?).
If so, there is then the issue of the not too sharp bit ( which HAS to also translate as out of balance) you'd need add that extra vibration to the mix as well.
In the samples I showed at the Camp those letters were all close to .25" deep,one was done in multiple passes, and the other was a slow, single pass.
And THEN there is also the issue of the marble itself;

MARBLE (Scientific term) - A metamorphic (recrystallized) limestone composed predominately of crystalline grains of calcite or dolomite or both, having interlocking or mosaic texture.

"Interlocking or mosaic texture" would seem to lend itself to "tear out", so I'd opt for the sharpest bit you have on hand.
If that piece were still registered on my machine I would take a small paint brush and coat the insides of each V cut with some plain tap water. Then I'd place a plastic sheet around the edges of my machine to keep the soon to be created (airborne) marble slurry from sticking to your machine....And then with the sharp bit I would cut the same file, but a little deeper...
Please keep us posted on your findings...

nailzscott
03-08-2011, 09:00 PM
Steve,