PDA

View Full Version : Vac plenum which to select

KenC
04-10-2011, 08:31 AM
Hi,
I am totally new to the vacuum hold down & I knew my budget just would not allow the luxury, until I came across Brady's 9-15 open source vacuum project. Bradly you are a star!
And Gary Cambel's Black Box Vac Source, & his K.I.S.S. are great too.

I took the plunge & ordered a pair of 7123 intending to run them in parallel. Will eventually end up with 4 units in parallel taking the lead of the Black Box Vac Source, that is when money is available.

The next decision is to decide on which type of plenum to choose from.

The plumbing will be as Gary's K.I.S.S. with a set of home made knife edge valve made out of MDF.

I'm torn between the Universal plenum with a fix 1/2" spoil MDF spoil board & Brady's VacI & VacII combo. From my understanding (point me out if I'm wrong), a pair of 7123 in parallel will be limited by small parts & too much cut through jobs on a universal plenum. This is where Brady's VacII can step in & save the day.

As for my work, they varies vastly the board, I can never predict what will come through the door next. Some days I will have cabinets, another week will be flooded with texture board & another month with small profile cutting. Even carving & engraving of various sizes are common...
Material is a big mix too, MDF, hard wood, plywood, soft wood...

I would be most appreciate in getting some advice from the gurus.
Thanks in advance

Ken

dana_swift
04-10-2011, 10:43 AM
Ken, that decision is not quite as critical as you think. Whatever you chose there will be times when some other design will have been better. What is most important is to get started. Make something with the intention of replacing it in a year or two. Then you will know how to make it suit your needs better.

My suggestion is go with what you can afford that "should" meet your needs, then get that experience. How well it works depends on your specific materials etc.